Market Friday At Melcom - Where Ghana Shops

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220422_140356.jpg

Ghana now has a number of shopping malls where people can purchase almost any product they want. I really love the fact that many marketers are emerging in the Ghanaian economy. This is because when there are many alternatives you will always get the best. Many sellers will also help break monopoly which often leads to price increment and give buyers no choice than to buy at any price.

many sellers will mean consumers will have more options. In a competitive economy, raising product prices and lowering product quality will be difficult, and you will lose customers if you do so. This is why every shopping center in the country is now trying to offer the best deals in order to attract new customers while keeping the ones they already have.

The China Mall, which has recently entered the Ghanaian market, is a new competitor to the already dominant shopping centers such as Melcom. I do the majority of my shopping at Melcom, which is where the majority of Ghanaians shop. They have several branches across the country, making it easier to shop no matter your location.

Today, visited Melcom shopping Mall-Adum branch and picked few items for my family. Adum is one of Kumasi's busiest areas, and it is home to majority of the city's businesses. It is the reason why the city is so congested with cars and sometimes human congestion at various locations because a large number of people troop in their numbers to either buy or sell.

The shopping mall was crowded today, as usual, with people milling about looking for their favorite items. To avoid wasting time while shopping, I make a list of the items I intend to purchase. Even with the list, you may be uncertain as to what to buy when confronted with a variety of product brands.

I needed some drinks and biscuits for the family , and I was able to get Tampico, Don Simon, Coca cocola, Champaign and some biscuits all totalling ¢100 (equivalent to 13. 29 Hive). This store is far too large and sells almost every product, which I believe is why most people prefer it to other shopping malls.

IMG_20220422_135556_1.jpg

IMG_20220422_135802.jpg

IMG_20220422_135237.jpg

in search for drinks


IMG_20220422_135136.jpg

IMG_20220422_135206.jpg

in search for biscuits





After paying, I hopped out to get a new screen protector for my Huawei P20 Pro. Fortunately for me, I was able to obtain some after only a few minutes' walk from Melcom. Kotoro, the owner of this shop, sells mobile phone accessories for a variety of phone brands. Dealing with a wide range of accessories made it easier for me to obtain a screen protector for my phone, which also cost ¢10 or 1.44 Hive.

IMG_20220422_134259.jpg

IMG_20220422_134306.jpg

Though I only needed one for now, I decided to buy four to have on hand in case I needed a replacement. The entire shopping experience lasted approximately 40 minutes, and I believe I really enjoyed it. Thanks to @dswigle for the opportunity for me to share my #MarketFriday experience.

Sort:  

Don't forget to drop your post in the #MarketFriday comment section here

sure, thanks @dswigle

Fridays are for market beauty. Thanks for this bro

my pleasure

Did you really buy 4 screen protectors? I have only bought one for each phone I have ever owned.

That store is quite amazing with all of the products that it carries. I am with you, I think I would support the Ghanian store. It will go back into the pocket of Ghana. That is what we all look for.

The store is HUGE! Of course, there are a lot of people in Ghana!! :) It looks like a huge warehouse! Are the traditional markets cheaper? Seems to me that the prices are good for the products recieved.

This was a great post, showing off the different products there! Thank you for the great post!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    **7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Did you really buy 4 screen protectors? I have only bought one for each phone I have ever owned.

Yes, I did, but I just realised I didn't include a photo of the items. Because Huawei products are now scarce in Ghana, I had to get four. I have to place an order online, which takes a long time to arrive. For the time being, I'm only using one; the rest will be saved in case I need to replace it.

Are the traditional markets cheaper? Seems to me that the prices are good for the products recieved.

Melcom's prices are reasonable, and they frequently offer sales discounts on their products, making it one of the most popular shopping destinations. With traditional markets, it all depends on what you want; some items are quite expensive, while others are very inexpensive.

This was a great post, showing off the different products there! Thank you for the great post!

Thank you @dswigle for the support and for your nice comment.

As I read and enjoy this post, and loved the way you put the cost of items in Hive value one thing struck me. How cheap, compared to where I live, screen protectors are.

I would be paying 20 to 40 Hive for a screen protector for my phone.