You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heading towards the Nîmes Coliseum and other Adventures in the south of France

in Market Fridaylast year

There you go again, tracking down antiquities, how lucky are you, to live around some well-stocked historical sites? I actually did not know that they had so many Roman antiquities~ admittedly, you wowed the heck right out of me!

You are so considerate and always take us out for a bite to eat, lunch or dinner, but, you always manage to feed us well! I like the atmosphere! So lovely! Anything flambeed is a winner, but, in this case, it looks delectable. I have to believe it was delicious. I do like the train stations in towns, many are older and leave a trail of history behind. I have a weakness for fountains!! That we have pieces like this still around is amazing. Building likenesses is second best. Did I mention I love fountains?

The coat of arms? I looked it up and it represents Egypt in submission. (The crocodile is chained to the palm tree) The palm tree is an ancient sign of victory. They have a Colosseum there! I am in awe!! What a wonderful moment! I am so sorry it was closed off, but, you got to view the Colosseum in its ancient magnificence! Sorry I took so long to answer, I wanted to enjoy the post. :) Thank you! It was worth the wait for me!!!


#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday


Sort:  

One of the good thing about being so surrounded by those beautiful things, is that I was actually very conscious that there were marvels and I was looking at them not as basic things or stuff. But I believe we’ve not a basic look on things anyway ^^ !

This Norvegian omelette was really something to try and I’ve to say there is a before and an after in my culinary adventures.. this was simple and complex, hot and cold at the same time and so it was perfect... like life finally :)

Oh, thank you for looking more about the coat of arm, I was sure you’ll search about ! This is an interesting story, I also need to search more about it !

Thank you dear Denise for your detailed visit and precise look on our #MarketFriday and one the world in general :)

Thank you! Your writing always makes me want to look under the surface. Have a great evening!

😇 Thank you @dswigle !

To say the truth, when I answered you, I was in the metro (ligne 4 to be exact) and when I read it again, I saw that I completely forgot to tell you about fountains ... I really love those !!!

You can maybe check the one in Lyon on the "Place des Terreaux" maybe my favorite as I grew up just near by :)

Have a lovely day !