You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday, Firecrackers and Progressive Dinners

in Market Friday2 years ago

Who doesn't love a few well-placed fireworks? The rules here are from State to State. I have mostly lived in States where fireworks are illegal, and then the City hires pyrotechnics to shoot them off in a public display. I should have clarified in my post, but, was falling asleep last night, so it took me about five hours to put it together between trying to keep my eyes open and deleting trash that I was writing while not fully awake. 😁 Everyone puts in some money and they are purchases. There are a couple of well-qualified guys who shoot them all off into the water or the land in the back of us, with everyone else watching from a safe distance away. Knock on wood, never any accidents or stupidity involved. I like to watch and would never, never shoot them off. I am not confident. :)

There are so many excesses that I don't want to add anything extra.

That is exactly how accidents happen. Yes.

Progressive dinners can be fun, and in actuality, they are fun with small numbers of people. Many people don't see the sense in them, but, for people that like to entertain, it is fun to put it together and enjoy the company of others.

Thanks, Dan @bluemoon for taking part in the challenge! I really appreciate it, more than you know!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Sort:  

I love #MarketFriday!

You may wonder why? Well, because it ties in with my beginnings here, even with yours if I think we both celebrated 5 years on this blockchain last month. Congratulations to you and many more happy years here!

I've given up writing when I'm tired and after midnight. That's why I have fewer posts lately. I remember what you say, that we are supposed to be here for fun, and overexertion is no longer fun for me. So I hope you don't forget that saying of yours either!

I understand that fireworks must be very beautiful where you live, because there are large spaces between houses, with sprawling gardens. And the way it's organized seems very good and safe to me.
Imagine how it is at my place, where the street is 3-4 meters wide and the distance between houses is not more than 10 meters... and when all kinds of fireworks and bombs go off from every yard and street. All the dogs in the neighborhood are scared to death, plus the fireworks fall before they burn completely, on cars, on houses, on people. It's crazy!

Yes, progressive dinners can be fun if there aren't many participants and if it's like a friendship between friends. That's the way I'd like it.

I guess you know by now that I enjoy participating in the challenge, even if it's not always easy to fit it into the time frame. My pleasure, @dswigle, and once again I wish you a beautiful summer!

Yes, progressive dinners can be fun if there aren't many participants and if it's like a friendship between friends. That's the way I'd like it.

That is the way they are supposed to be! On the fourth of July, we extend it to them a few more that we know, but, not as well. This has encouraged many more in the neighborhood to do it on their own, helping create better relationships/new friendships within our small community.

When I lived right in the city, there was no way I liked fireworks. Dangerous and scary. I agree. I go downtown for the big show and the next night, we have it in our neighborhood.

Last night, I quit at 11:30 and went to bed for a change. It felt good getting up this morning. I need to do that more often. I am better at preaching than practicing it. I love the peace of night, but, I need to get over that too. It is fun because I am balancing it pretty well so I don't burn out. I am not as productive as some, but, I am at peace with that too. I have a lot of different things on my plate and me being on for two hours more won't make or break me financially. I am more productive when I am not tired/stressed for time.

I am still amazed that we have both been here for 5 years! Where has the time gone? Thank you so much for being such a good friend all these years, Dan! @bluemoon You are the best!

Of course, when we are rested we are more productive. I try to change my habits and try to protect myself, heart problems have been a signal to watch out for.

Yes, it's been years, and they have been beautiful. I thank you for being such a good friend and helping me so many times. I am not the best, never have been, and the truth is I never wanted to be. Thank you again for thinking I am.

Haha! That is for me to decide. :) It is what I feel, so that is all that counts.

You are right. It is late and I am tired, so I am quitting while I am ahead.

Many beautiful years, Dan @bluemoon That is exactly how I feel. Thank you for being such a good friend and putting up with my never having time to visit your posts! I always feel bad and say I will do better!

Then I just have to say thank you and be glad, @dswigle!

The problem with reading posts and replying to comments is mine. I'm terribly sorry I can't be organized and consistent. Wonderful that you don't mind...
I still sometimes wonder: Did Denise forget about me? ...forgetting that I'm no different.
Fortunately, you don't forget, and I ask you to believe that I don't either.