You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Irish Eyes are Smiling: Market Friday

in Market Fridaylast year

Exactly. Picking season is when it is cheapest here, with the overabundance of crops, it needs to get pushed out.

What is the cooler method?

I vacuum seal enough (or can the produce) and it will last all through the winter, right up until the next good season.

Winters in Michigan are unforgiving! :) But, some of the time, it really is pretty fun! Ice fishing! skating! snowshoeing! tobogganing!

Sort:  

Basically you just put the corn in a cooler and fill it with boiling water. Cover it and leave it for a fixed amount of time. You have to shuck it all first though. I do enjoy Michigan winters for the first couple of storms. After that I am ready for summer.

I actually didn't know you could do that! I use a lobster pot, but this sounds like you have a huge cooler. :)