You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Falling for the Appalachian Trail: A Market Friday Story

in Market Fridaylast year

Can you imagine a job like that? I think it would be the most perfect job in the world. Every day, you and nature.

Le sigh.

I am glad that they have signage up for the escape routes. I have never been in a forest fire, but, I have relatives that live in California and every year are evacuated because of forest fires. I cannot imagine living like that. I just cannot.

The views will only be a memory soon. Spring!!! Isn't that the best????

Thank you for dropping your link!

Ha!!! I want to hike too!!!

Sort:  

I do agree with you...that would absolutely be the perfect job!!

Yes, forest fires are scary! I haven't been in a proper forest fire myself yet either. But I grew up on a small farm and we had veld fires every year. So I was kind of used to those as a child.

Then, as an adult in 2003, when we moved down to the coastal area with our two daughters, we moved onto a small farm as well and for me, it was like a dream come true. But with that came the fires and my wife wasn't too keen on that. And the area that we lived in (the Valley of a Thousand Hills) was densely populated with trees, so those fires could also get ugly. One year we had a really bad fire and we almost lost one of our dogs, but fortunately, we found her in time and she was saved.

My wife enjoyed living there and being in a beautiful area (we had a spectacular view over the valley from our living room), but when we moved back to the city, she admitted to me that she is not going to miss the fires...

Spring! Oh yes, my favorite season of the year!

You're welcome!

Wow! This hike had a nice surprise involved...! Thank you, @dswigle! I do appreciate it!

You are always a pleasure! I have to agree, fires can be scary, no rhyme or reason to their movement.