Market Friday - The Hannah Bennett Sculpture Garden

in Market Friday2 years ago

For #marketfriday by the lovely @dswigle, we visited a collection of sculptures in the garden of sculptor, Hannah Bennett. We paid a £3 entrance fee with all monies going to the Neo Natal Unit at our local hospital, which was a nice touch.

Hannah, as well as her own work, showcases pieces of art by people who she considers to be the best sculptors in the UK. The blue 'Scaredy Cat' at £350 by Christine Baxter was quite striking.

'Sandalwood Seeds' by Hannah herself. I like art that you can actually touch without being scared of breaking anything.

I like the peg sculpture which is actually an oak bench. It's called 'release' .😉 It's by Michael Wells selling at £1,450.

'Female Torso' was by Terence Lister at £775.

'Seja' by Christine Baxter at £550.

Hannah had the ideal garden to display the art work and the weather was perfect. Although the sculptures were pretty special and I wish I could have purchased a couple, sadly they were out of my price range. I was tempted to ask if she had anything for £10 but decided against it ....

Sort:  

Hi @ellenripley,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Haha! If she has anything for $10.00, I will fly over myself! :))

The sculpture garden is pretty cool and I especially like that she donates the Neonatal Wing, which is probably from a personal relationship in her own life, but, perhaps not. That makes me like it even more.

I especially like the Scaredy Cat and was wondering what was used for the material? Cement? The blue makes a real stand-out piece. The usefulness of the peg makes me smile.

You have this uncanny ability to find the most obscure places! I love it! I hope you are having a great time celebrating the Jubilee! Enjoy the weekend and thanks for joining the challenge!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Thank you Denise. The 'Scaredy Cat' is made out of resin. I did wonder if the artist was a 'Friends' fan?

I think you are right about the artist donating to the hospital, as it's a very personal choice. There was a sculpture by her called 'Loss'. I put two and two together and felt it too personal to post somehow.

I hate to say this but I'm not a fan of the royal family. I'm laying low until it's all finished. 😁

I do hope you are keeping well. ❤

What a great idea to go to the garden of the sculptor for this market Friday.
Not a large amount for the entrance, seeing all these great works of art.
Thank you so much for sharing with us. Love the captures…
Seja is my favourite of the ones you shared 🥰

Yep better not ask if there was something for 10. 😉

Thank you! I have got manners sometimes. 😁

You are welcome @ellenripley 😁
Hahaha lol 😂

Very nice art work in the garden setting!! Much better atmosphere than in big square rooms!

I could have happily moved in there, but I don’t think she would have liked a lodger.