#MarketFriday - Shopping for Lots Of Good Cheap Stuff!

in Market Fridaylast year (edited)

#MARKETFRIDAY @EverNoticeThat httpshive.blog@evernoticethat.jpg

It's Friday and time for yet another trip to the temple of American capitalism; Walmart. I like shopping here as the prices are low (after they drove out many of the small grocery and mom & pop hardware stores) and I can ring my own purchases up.

For some reason they've hung even more American flags up, so they're everywhere now. Which is just fine with me as I'm a huge patriot who loves his country. God bless the USA! Now of course there are a couple of ground rules when buying as a typical Yank:

  1. Steer clear of the "foreign foods" isle. If you see the word "Goya" you're in the wrong area. Head out as quickly as possible, those products are not for us. :)

  2. Try to stay away from anything labeled 'healthy' If it says "vegan" avoid it like the plague. Those are for Europeans or those loopy people on the west coast who eat something called "tofu" (whatever that is) and don't consume meat. We're Americans and have to live up to the billing. :)

But seriously, I picked up some nice items today, and in most of the pics I managed to include the prices and am interested to find out if you would consider these cheap or expensive wherever you live.

So here we go!

IMG_20230126_173841056_HDR.jpg
We start off with possibly the best ice cream flavor next to party cake, and that's Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup. It leaves a heavenly taste in the mouth and is a staple when I watch movies.

IMG_20230126_173919737_HDR.jpg
Of these two from Campbell's I have a slight preference for the meatballs, mainly because they pack so many in. You're almost guaranteed to have some meatball with each spoonful, so I love these guys.

IMG_20230126_174010572_HDR.jpg
The Oreo cookie is almost an American standard to dunk in milk or wolfdown whole. I like to pair these with the ice cream listed above to double the delight!

IMG_20230126_174614114_HDR.jpg
I read that Kellogg's Specail K is banned in the UK for some reason. And that's fine with me because nobody I know buys them as their labeled as "healthy" which is the kiss of death here. Fat chicks on a diet eat this crap and they can have every last bit of it. They're nasty. :)

IMG_20230126_174650028_HDR.jpg
Here's another "healthy" cereal that's also foul, that I can barely shove down my gullet. The pumpkin seed is what makes this one almost tolerable, and its one of my go-to brands if I must have something that's good for me.

IMG_20230126_174840118_HDR.jpg
These are the only brand of boxed popcorn that I can stomach. They leave your hands sticky and get caught in-between your teet, so beware. They're usually only a buck a box, but Americans demanded more so they made a family-sized box (which for me is just about enough for a single serving). I swear, in the rest of the world, you guys eat like birds. Here, EVERYTHING is super-sized! :)

IMG_20230126_174932661_HDR.jpg
Hamburger Helper is what you call "comfort food" A lot of poor people and broke college students eat this without the meat when they're short on cash. I love the taste!

IMG_20230126_175027656_HDR.jpg
I don't know what this crap is, but the name alone is a complete turn-off for me. There's a lot of it here, so I suppose somebody's buying it. If you know what it's used for, let me know in a comment.

IMG_20230126_175214402_HDR.jpg
It wouldn't be America without some Spam, right? I eat this right out of the can, no cooking necessary! It's great to take on long hikes.

IMG_20230126_175315503_HDR.jpg
When I lived in Germany, the foreigners made fun of us Yanks for putting Ranch Dressing on everything. You better believe it baby! Ranch rocks! We even put it on pizza!

IMG_20230126_175431221_HDR.jpg
Raw honey is not only good for you, but tastes good as well. It's expensive, but so worth it.

IMG_20230126_175609186_HDR.jpg
These combo-flavors are some new items that they just added to the store. Mayo and mustard? I think I'll pass. :)

IMG_20230127_171921447_HDR.jpg
Nutter Butter Peanut Butter cookies (not "biscuts" Brits!), are yet another staple movie-Netflix-Amazon Prime, AppleTV+ food. They also leave a grewat aftertaste as well, but at almost $5, are a little on the pricey side.

IMG_20230127_172527832_HDR.jpg
I buy these cans of Chicken Alfredo all the time. At $1.24, they're a steal, so I stock up on a full case at a time. Would this be considered cheap or expensive in your country?

IMG_20230127_172927790_HDR.jpg
And last but not least, we couldn't leave without picking up some chicken wings. At 8lbs for $24 bucks, it looks like a good deal to me! We'll need a new bag in a couple of days as these won't last long at all.

Well I hope you enjoyed my little shopping trip. Thanks for tagging along, and please let me know how these prices stack up against what you pay in your own country. Until next time: Happy Shopping!

If you found this post informative, please leave a comment, upvote and reblog

Please check out my recent posts:

Image Credit: [1] @EverNoticeThat Created using Canva. All photos by @EverNoticeThat


Sort:  

LOL!
Your shopping list is a must have for comfort foods.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha! It's all Movie, Netflix, Prime Video, Apple TV+ food! :)