Super-Market Friday

in Market Friday2 years ago

I enjoy going to this supermarket. It is located in a residential neighbourhood and because it is a standalone supermarket with a few stores in the ground level, it is not as crowded as the ones located in the malls.

Being a working day here today, the supermarket has barely any shoppers and perfect to get some walking done as well as weekly shopping. I got my produce for the fortnight last week and the produce is still fresh, so I don’t have any fresh produce to buy, but the fruits were a great deal and I got some mandarins and watermelon (summer fruits I know, but they are available throughout the year here).

It is quite impressive most of the beverages and juice here is in glass bottle. But, I feel large supermarket chains should have a recycling station too, so we can drop the empty jars and bottles there and don’t have to make a separate trip to the recycling station.

I forgot to take a picture at the supermarket, but I bought a Mango chili sauce for about 9 AED from the international food section, and it was absolutely the best mango chili sauce I have ever had.

And how could I leave without getting some chocolates, I prefer to check the deals section before I shop the aisles. And I got some 50% dark chocolates since it was a good deal, and I skipped the aisles.

The outdoor section of the supermarket generally gets bare by the second week of January. But I think the best time to buy from the outdoor section is during the summer months, when the temperatures reach over 47 degree Celsius and the price of these products drop by 50% or more. At this time of the year, it is not worth buying them. But if you are going camping or a barbeque and have to make a purchase for this season, then the prices here is much better than the other supermarkets.

The billing is always very quick here. There are no queues and the staff are polite and helpful. And since this is the end of the year, and I had some points at the store, I redeemed my points and I didn’t have to pay anything for the 2 pizzas and 2 bags of crisps and chips and chocolates for the rest of the month. The perfect kind of guilt free shopping.

This post is written for the #MarketFriday initiative by @dswigle


Thank you for reading.


All photos are my own & shot on my phone

Sort:  

Just like you, I also like going to groceries or malls on weekdays because there are less people and the queues at the cashier is short or none! I like how the supermarket is clean and organized too. Did you bring your own grocery bag or is that from the supermarket?

Yes weekdays are the best time for grocery shopping 🛍… ya here plastic bags are not allowed, I carry my on grocery bags (reusable bag - made of cloth) 😀

Loading...