You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday - Barbados, Lesser Antilles in the West Indies

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Wow ! that cover photo is so spectacular. Captivating! there is a rare feeling in me of emotion, longing and melancholy every time I see those posts with those beautiful beaches and those intense blues and greens. Yesterday I dreamed of the sea again. You know, the sea is a very recurrent element in my dreams. I guess it happens because I miss it so much.
I am learning that Barbados is considered the birthplace of rum. I guess it must be very good and there must be great cane fields on the island. That sea looks pretty rough and it is understandable because it is open sea, that is why it is very good for surfers. I can still imagine myself lying in a hammock underneath those palm trees, feeling and listening to the wind and smelling the sea. Thank you for transporting us to these beautiful places.
Are monkeys everywhere in the island? do people have their as pet in their houses?

Sort:  

It is such a pretty little island and I was on the lesser side of the island. Most people prefer the side of white sands, peaceful water, and even one of the beaches with pink sand. I really like this side in the middle of it all.

Barbados has two main coasts, the calm Caribbean with its white sands and turquoise waters, and the Atlantic which has rugged shores and world-class waves, hence the surfers along with international competition. Bathsheba is on the Atlantic side, so the water is rougher and not recommended for swimming. That is why the water is so rough.

There used to be natural forests in precolonial times, and they cleared them to plant sugar cane. When much of that business went away, the land into brown, scrubby brush. There are 1,500 small farms spread over all of Barbados which produce 60,000 tons of sugar annually.

The island is only 22 miles long and 15 miles wide, so 14,000 monkeys mean they are probably everywhere. I haven't seen anyone with one as a pet. I am not sure, but, I am guessing it would not be a popular pet. The monkey in the picture was sitting on a wooden structure as I was walking by. He scattered when I got closer. I zoomed in here. I wasn't that close. :)

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words! Have a wonderful night!

#MarketFriday loves you!