Cruising through Market Friday Challenge | Chinese herb & spice market

in Market Friday3 years ago

This is an inspiration from Denise @dswigle to join the #MarketFriday Challenge! If you haven't followed her yet; please do so now as she is one of those genuine encourages with a true heart and soul to support people on HIVE!

I haven't been around the #MarketFriday post in the last few weeks. To be precise, I've been rather preoccupied with work in the last 2 months since I've taken on more responsibilities. I do miss my time reading though all those post on HIVE but I'm so tired at the end of each working day that I just want to sleep it off. However, tonight I've just had enough of work and want to spend some ME time. Even if it's just to read other people's post and perhaps get a post out myself.

IMG20201112WA0013.jpg

For this week, I'll like to share about the Chinese spice market which I visited a few months back. After all, I am living very close to China Town in Saigon; of course I would find plenty of Chinese herbs & spices. This is just one shop in which I managed to take these photos. The entire area is huge with plenty of similar shops like these. All selling similar herbs and spices - some same prices while others either cheaper or more expensive depending on the quality of the herbs.

IMG20201112WA0012.jpg

I'm no expert in Chinese herbs or spices but I am familiar with some - at least those that I would cook either for soup or dessert. There's red dates and chrysanthemum here but I'm not sure what the purple ones are. Maybe it's lavender flowers; it does look like it.

However, it may be, it is indeed nice to walk around the area. Most satisfying enjoying the fragrant in the air 😘


This is the one tag and weekly challenge that I try to make a point to join; not to mention that I'm also a fanatic when it comes to sight seeing or shopping in any form of market - indoors, outdoors, food, textile, accessories and etc.

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe!
There's so many different cultures and beauty in this world and the more we travel and open up our eyes, the more we gain.

It's easy to participate :

  1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service.
  2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
  3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
  4. Post the picture(s)
  5. Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
  6. Minimum 250 words

signature.png