Cruising through Market Friday Challenge | I'm looking for Vietnamese Avocado

in Market Friday4 years ago

This is an inspiration from Denise @dswigle to join the #MarketFriday Challenge! If you haven't followed her yet; please do so now as she is one of those genuine encourages with a true heart and soul to support people on HIVE!

I never thought I'll be searching for any specific fruit until now. Maybe I'm being a bit too fanatic about Avocados especially since I've been wanting to make guacamole for weeks. Or at least, enjoy a fully ripe avocado with salad. I even brought a bottle of salad dressing last week but never got around to making a decent salad for myself.

IMG_20200604_125549.jpg

So, I've been doing some research about how the avocados look like here. And to my surprised it isn't how I expect it to be. I mean I knew it looked like a pear but not like this. I think I did see it before at the local wet market but just realised it until now. Speaking to my colleagues, they explained that this is the local avocados and because it's in season, it cost approximately VND50,000 for 1kg. The smaller ones cost about VND20,000 for 1kg.

IMG_20200604_125553.jpg

The ones I have here was taken from a supermarket near my office. They sell mainly imported goods and is catered for the foreigners like me. One glance at the price, I knew it was too expensive. I actually can't wait to go to the local wet market tomorrow; hoping to buy myself some local avocados. I've this craving for avocados and if I don't get some, I might just go in madness 😆

Have you ever seen avocados in this shape before? It's like a size of a papaya but shaped like a thin pear.


This is the one tag and weekly challenge that I try to make a point to join; not to mention that I'm also a fanatic when it comes to sight seeing or shopping in any form of market - indoors, outdoors, food, textile, accessories and etc.

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe!
There's so many different cultures and beauty in this world and the more we travel and open up our eyes, the more we gain.

It's easy to participate :

  1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service.
  2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
  3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
  4. Post the picture(s)
  5. Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
  6. Minimum 250 words

signature.png


Sort:  
Curated and reblogged by @ASEAN.Hive on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community.
⋆ ᴀ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ғᴏᴏᴅ, ᴛʀᴀᴠᴇʟ, ᴘʜᴏᴛᴏɢʀᴀᴘʜʏ, ᴘᴏʟɪᴛɪᴄs, ᴀʀᴛ, ᴍᴏᴠɪᴇ ʀᴇᴠɪᴇᴡs & ᴍᴏʀᴇ
⋆ sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ʜᴇʀᴇ
⋆ ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴏᴜʀ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ

I miss eating Avocado. I hope when I go to the market I would be able to find some that are cheap. Thanks for sharing this with us

I've just returned from the market and I'm happy to say that I bought 3 avocados. Cost me only VND31,000 = USD1.33 = MYR5.68. Back home, 1 avocado cost me MYR 3.99 cheapest ever and smaller in size too

I eat some avocado almost every day! Especially as they have been in season. I bought 5 of them for $2.99 They are even rather large. When they are in season, they are cheap, but, our of season, I expect to pay that much for one.

It is the price we pay for goodness! :) When they are that much, I might buy 2 per week and split them.

I have never seen them look like the ones you show me. I looked it up and the Indian avocado looks very similar to those you described. It is called Namdhari Avocado. Look it up and see if that looks like it. I am so happy you found some! I need my avocados!!!!

Thanks for joining! I appreciate the love and support you are giving to #MarketFriday! Without you and people like yourself, I wouldn't be able to have such a successful challenge! I know that it is one of those challenges that take a lot of time and effort to be part of, so it means a lot to me that you participate. Thank you again for being a part of all this and I hope that you will, indeed, have a great day and week ahead!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Thanks @dswigle. The ones I have here are larger than what I'm used too.
Over the weekend, I dropped by the market and found more unusual shaped avocados.
Took a photo of it and will be sharing about it.
I did buy 3 just to see how it would taste like.
But, I didn't have any honey so I guess, I'll have to buy a jar of honey to enjoy with my avocados :)

I use onion, tomatoes, cilantro, jalapeno pepper, lime juice, garlic, and salt. It makes nice guacamole. :) I put that on top of many different types of meat.

I have never used honey although I do eat the avocados plain at times. I bet that makes it interesting. How much do you put in and is that all that is used?

Just a teaspoon of honey. Since the avocados are tasteless, it's nice to have some honey.
I know some take it with sweet condensed milk but that is too milky for me.

I might just get the ingredients for guacamole and make some this weekend.
Definitely lots of vitamins.

Yes!!! I do love it!!! I hope you do just that! Have fun! I meant to ask, are things getting back to almost normal there?

🎁 Hi @ireenchew! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.