You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday: Bermuda's Hidden Charms

in Market Friday2 years ago

Pink sand being made from all the washed up coral pieces? I did not know that was how it got coloured like that, seems a bit sad, but what a lovely colour it is. Bermuda does look really appealing, but I'd have to try get around the superstitions 🤣

Sort:  

@janiqua-d Hello!! Fancy meeting you here! You have landed on #MarketFriday, both a challenge and a community that I started. It is a cultural event!

Isn't pink sand the coolest? I was wowed by it as a teenager and to date, the pink beaches are my favorite. :) Okay, to be fair, they are all my favorite!

I use to be freaked by the Bermuda Triangle! Then I started going there and it has 99.9% gone away. I don't even think about it! I have read so much on it and found that many of the rumors had started on the island itself! I found that a tad funny. :) For your information:

The number of ships and aircraft reported missing in the area was not significantly greater, proportionally speaking, than in any other part of the ocean.

In an area frequented by tropical cyclones, the number of disappearances that did occur was, for the most part, neither disproportionate, unlikely, nor mysterious.

Furthermore, Berlitz and other writers would often fail to mention such storms or even represent the disappearance as having happened in calm conditions when meteorological records clearly contradict this.

The numbers themselves had been exaggerated by sloppy research. A boat's disappearance, for example, would be reported, but its eventual (if belated) return to port may not have been.

Some disappearances had, in fact, never happened. One plane crash was said to have taken place in 1937, off Daytona Beach, Florida, in front of hundreds of witnesses; a check of the local papers revealed nothing.

The legend of the Bermuda Triangle is a manufactured mystery, perpetuated by writers who either purposely or unknowingly made use of misconceptions, faulty reasoning, and sensationalism.

In a 2013 study, the World Wide Fund for Nature identified the world's 10 most dangerous waters for shipping, but the Bermuda Triangle was not among them. source

*Anyway, I am delighted that you stopped over I am so glad to meet you! My name is Denise and I live in the Washington, DC Metro area! Welcome to Hive!!! If you ever need anything or want to ask a question, you know where to find me! :) Also on Discord! Thank you for stopping by and have a great night!

Hello again Denise

Thanks so much for that insight, I did not know many of those facts and it is so true that often these folktales and superstitions are passed along the generations each one adding a new little exacerbation - broken telephone on steroids. The stories I heard scared the living bazinga out of me. I'm glad that you were able to push passed being freaked out.

A boat's disappearance, for example, would be reported, but its eventual (if belated) return to port may not have been.

I think the media employs these tactics all the time to this day.

Absolutely love the pink beaches, but like you say, all beaches really 😁 Have a wonderful day and it's nice to know your name now.