Market Friday - The arboretum, a plant sale and a cafe lunch

in Market Friday3 years ago

Hello and welcome to my Market Friday post. Be sure to check out the community, and the #marketfriday tag hosted by @dswigle, who is also famous for the #alwaysaflower tag.

For Mother’s Day, my husband bought a membership to the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. Now that we are vaccinated and things are starting to open up, we are ready to be out in the world!

We went to see the tulips, which are in full color right now.

F9184159-1954-4BA6-8138-F41CA080DC4F.jpeg

There were quite a few people there, but it was manageable since it was a weekday.

CECA0DA5-9BBD-41B6-807C-00DCE16E48C5.jpeg

6CB76F47-0242-4A45-9591-196E6450DBAD.jpeg

AEA2A372-9165-43EE-8E03-AB5B0C2C8817.jpeg

I took several close-ups of the tulips to capture the different varieties.

34CDDDEB-45D0-476E-A01F-40BF314E3A16.jpeg

26E717D9-E55A-4A0E-BCB2-90DB48D7FC03.jpeg

D9721876-8F8E-4892-862E-B21622E29215.jpeg

E2C15575-598F-4DAC-9FBA-6C90CF63C83C.jpeg

FCC886E2-8405-476E-8E64-A4E7D80B3C2D.jpeg

84E706ED-DF5E-4645-B523-F6D7134ED8CA.jpeg

A86DB290-24E9-41E4-B961-A6E26C00D871.jpeg

804306E8-BFAB-4E51-B09C-A0A8E1042162.jpeg

We strolled the beautiful grounds. There was plenty to see but a lot of things are not blooming quite yet.

B824BBC9-BC07-432A-BD8C-E7B896F5D548.jpeg

2D06E589-2AC8-4413-9818-408F888EE2C8.jpeg

7C24EEA6-7201-49BB-B54F-FAD33AC7E280.jpeg

4CA3F117-8136-4AF9-807E-13EC28DF5B61.jpeg

D02C6CE9-DFFE-47F0-ABB1-7886EA1DDACE.jpeg

From there we took a woodland walk and suddenly came out by a barn snd some research projects on bees. Additionally, there was a plant pre-sale that just happened to be open for a few hours, prior to the public sale over the weekend. It was great, as I was able to get several new butterfly-attracting perennials to add to my garden!

C86516CE-A5F1-474D-A475-0F9A8B8992EA.jpeg

4E365F9A-016E-4715-984E-24B0560B7F62.jpeg

A4218C6F-C8BF-4210-AFDD-0C1830D6CBB3.jpeg

70A588BA-1616-40E3-B66E-4A5C583CCF8A.jpeg

We vowed to go back soon, as there will be something different to see each time we go. But we were hungry for lunch. So we went to a cute nearby town we like, and had our first dine-in restaurant meal in over a year!

I had a fantastic shrimp salad with bacon and avocado, plus a glass of wine. I felt so happy and decadent!

914B83F0-EA07-4742-BAE7-D7B4E2DE5400.jpeg

59A412F7-BFD9-4418-86EB-01411CA24763.jpeg

Thank you for visiting!

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Sort:  

Such variety in Tulips what a stunning display! Walking around open market places like this are always a joy.

Your first time out meal looked exceptionally good @jayna

!LUV

Thank you, @joanstewart! It really was an amazing day. It felt so wonderful to feel free to go to some public places, and everyone seemed so relaxed and pleasant!

Having places in nature to go out is always relaxing and enjoyable, days out! Who doesn't love it...

Oh, your lunch was delightful! I am still yet to go out to the restaurants, however, ours were closed forever and I'm just not too excited to do it yet. Feels wrong to sit there with a mask on, and then take it off to eat. But, I do miss it and have a glass of wine to bask in the loveliness!

I love your arboretum! I was so jealous of the tulips as ours are long gone! All those pops of pretty are magnificent! I wish I could get the same effect at home, but, then, they pull theirs up every year to make room for the new color. Maybe if I had a gardener! I like their building. The one with the stone. Very cool the way the entire thing is set up. Although there were some that weren't bloomed, that only means future visits as long as you have that pass! It is like a freebie. :)) How lucky to get in on the presales! Woot! Woot! You get the largest selection at that time. What did you get for the butterflies? I am happy that you are finally joining the Spring Fever. I love your post. ❤️ No surprise, right?

I am so happy to see you posting in the #MarketFriday tag. It has been a constant challenge I am sure to come up with new material with so many businesses closed down and the fact that many people do not want to go into some of the crowded stores and Markets. In these times when COVID has made it challenging to put together a post, or even search out different locations, I can say with an optimistic attitude that #MarketFriday has survived the pandemic, thanks to all of you. Without your dedication to stretch what we call a market has been done successfully. Thank you! All of you! In doing so, we have discovered that we have added new dimension to the tag. As many have been staying closer to home, I have also discovered more and more about each of you and that has been pretty nice. I have to admit, with the platform broken into different communities and tags, we get to see the same people, more or less that join every week, so we get to know each other a little bit. The challenge points out our differences, but, then, it also shows many things our cultures share. When the day is done, it shows off how human we all are and how we basically all care about our families and others. We embrace each other as humans.

I love the experience of it all. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a piece of your world, and I have to say, people are interested in is seeing it. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I am so happy to see you here! I hope you have a fabulous day! Hive on!!
Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! ❤️

Upped and reposted

Thank you for the lovely comment, @dswigle. Yes, I'm so glad also that #MarketFriday survived the pandemic. There were many months when I was not going to stores at all, unless it was absolutely necessary, so it does seem like a true success story. And it's good to be back.

The native plants I got for the butterflies are Rudbeckia (yellow sweet coneflower), purple Liatris Ligulistylis, and orange Asclepias Tuberosa. I already have purple coneflower, so it will be fun to see them all in bloom this summer. Last summer I had the most gorgeous butterflies! This year I may have to charge admission, ha ha. Hugs!

!ENGAGE 30

Haha! That sounds perfect! I would happily pay for that! Thanks again for your amazing submission. ❤️

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Hi @jayna, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @joanstewart. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thank you so much, @joanstewart!

Beautiful photos you made. Those days going out are behind me. Seeing the tulips... I never visited the "Keukenhof" famous for it's tulips and mine outside never saw the light.

I'm sorry to hear you are not able to go out, @wakeupkitty. I hope you gain a lot of enjoyment from photographs!

The tulips looked wonderful and it seems like you had such a great day. Your meal made my mouth water and now I am hungry...thanks!

It was a pretty awesome salad, I have to say! I hope all is well with you, @joebrochin.

Things are day to day, but think they are on the upswing. Thank you for the thoughts.

Such beautiful flowers! And that lunch looks delicious!!

Thank you for stopping by, @mariannewest!