Market Friday: VFW Hall, Meat Raffle, Fish Fry and Pull Tabs

in Market Friday2 years ago

We Minnesotans know how to have fun! My husband and I met several of our long-time friends at the local VFW (Veterans of Foreign Wars) for an evening of fun.

D7D992EF-3FD5-4795-ACA2-652745BA7D2F.jpeg

Are you familiar with Market Friday, hosted by @dswigle? It’s a great way to connect with people all over the world and see where people shop, eat, travel and have fun. Check it out!

Okay, so if you looked at the sign above, you’re probably wondering what a Flying Train Wreck is. Some sort of cocktail? No, that’s the name of the band that was going to play. The lead singer’s daughter is the partner of my friend’s son, and we have gone to hear her in various venues in the area. The band plays very danceable 70’s and 80’s rock, which is great fun.

7C9E2242-C18C-4082-8485-79188E7F3140.jpeg

And of course we danced!

B8A0F965-4756-4ED6-930E-731BD3E8B520.jpeg

But that was after the meat raffle and fish fry. I wish I had taken more pictures. One of my friends won four pounds of ground beef in the raffle, which I find hilarious. Evidently these things are very popular and always draw a crowd. I hadn’t been to one before.

The fish fry was yummy — baskets of batter-fried cod, Cole slaw, and a baked potato with butter and sour cream. Not exactly on my diet, but very yummy, especially with a glass of Summit Pale Ale.

This is a post-dinner picture. I didn’t think to get a pic of the fish basket so you’ll have to use your imagination.

78EB311D-5380-483B-AAE9-6D3F8E8F7107.jpeg

I’m also new to pull tabs, which are basically a lottery system where you open little tabs on a paper card to see if you won anything. As you might guess, there are occasional small prizes and even less occasional big ones. One of my friends paid $20 and won $4. But now and then people win $200 or more.

A83B5DCB-B719-48DB-9848-24A6E20DB784.jpeg

Here are a few more pictures of the VFW hall.

D6609CEE-F090-4D23-ACAE-F94ED17B53C0.jpeg

D51ACEA3-764F-472C-8DC2-0C2320455C57.jpeg

There’s a large bar in the middle (forgot to take a picture!) which was full and busy all night!

And last but not least, here’s a selfie with my gal pals.
182B29FF-9C26-40DB-8365-784FAC9D3C30.jpeg

Feeling blessed that it feels safe to go out with my friends again! Although, I do hear rumblings of Covid numbers on the rise again so it’s possibly short-lived.

Thank you for reading my post!


decorative-green-arrow-5293043.png

Photo credits: All of the photos in this post were taken by me with my iphone and belong to me, unless otherwise noted.

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Divider image from Pixabay

Sort:  

...baskets of batter-fried cod, Cole slaw, and a baked potato with butter and sour cream. Not exactly on my diet, but very yummy, especially with a glass of Summit Pale Ale.

I'm using my imagination already and these are mouth-watering! Flying Train Wreck? No wonder you all had a good time. Hehe. Do your local VFW meet every night for this sort of show?

Lovely pictures! Have a great weekend! !PIZZA 🙂

I have never been to the VFW before last night. It was quite an experience! I think the place is probably hopping with business every Friday and Saturday night.

Thanks for stopping by, @kemmyb!

They are busy most weekends @kemmyb! My father and grandfather used to go occasionally and meeting up with friends was the focal point. It used to be that it was an inexpensive way to gather and have fun. People have something in common as most people years ago served time in the military, so the experience gave them common ground.

Anyway fish fies, auctions, games and dancing - heck yeah!

Right? I guess I thought it was only for service people, but now I know differently!

Anyway fish fries, auctions, games and dancing - heck yeah!

😄 Yes, yes! Who wouldn't want to have fun this way? A meeting of veterans and like minds. Now that covid is gradually coming under control, this gathering will always be the highlight of a weekend!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@kemmyb(1/5) tipped @jayna (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

That's very happy. Do all of Mrs. @jayna's friends have hive blogs?

No, sadly, they do not. But one of the people in our group is a big crypto investor!

Maybe they have other activities. That big investor, what crypto currency

Bitcoin and some others he mentioned. I'm not a big crypto investor so I didn't really retain the information. I'm quite risk-averse, meaning I'm not willing to put any of my hard-earned money into something that may or may not succeed. I do all my investing through a licensed financial advisor. And I do all crypto investing through Hive with blogging and curating. Someday if I have time, I might be able to really learn and invest in crypto. But my life is too chaotic now.

Oee.I'm also like @jayna's mother I only play in hives to make ends meet, I also do not dare to invest in a place that is profitable or not. But if there is useful information to be able to produce, please share the info with me.

That's very happy time.

Looks like you had a great evening out with friends! I think we all realize now just how important it is to be in personal contact with friends and share fun times!
I do believe we'll all be a little more ready should a bad Covid strain come around again. Let's hope it does not happen. Most of us South Africans have had the Omicron variant and it really felt like a mild flu.
My nephew lives in Minnesota (I think Farmington), he's loving it.
Enjoy the freedom of movement 🤗

Farmington is a beautiful area. You will let me know if you're coming for a visit to the States, right @lizelle? It would be so fun to meet you!

Yes, I hope the next waves of Covid (which are inevitable) will be as mild as Omicron. Moreover, my hope and wish is that Covid will bring us together as a global society in a mission to be more caring toward one another. Maybe that's just a pipe dream.

How fun!!! The VFW was where it used to be at! For my grandfather and dad anyway. I don't think I have ever heard of the meat raffle, but, my time spent in a VFW was baby showers when I was younger and bridal showers. They had the largest venue for a good price. Someone's father was always a member!

What a fun raffle! They do have cool raffles. I imagine a meat raffle would be very, very popular always! :) I have to admit, I never do a fish fry at home, all fish frying activities are done at places like this or one of those little pub-type places on Friday. I love fish, but, not the frying smell in the house. What a fun bunch to go to a place like that with a bunch of gal pals! The bottom is such a sweet shot and gosh, woman, you are just so beautiful - along the exotic side with your eyes. What is your ethnic background?

Thanks for sharing this experience with us! It was a lot of fun!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    **7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post. I

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

I'm with you on the fish frying, @dswigle. Someone else can do the frying and I'll stop by and place an order! The aroma of fried fish is not so inviting when it lingers in my house. Sure tastes good on occasion, though.

My ethnic background is northern European. 😄 My heritage is some combination of German and Welsh and probably a few other strains as well. When I'm going out the extra makeup goes on for smoky eyes! Hee hee.

Thanks so much for stopping by. Your comments are always so wonderful!

)) We call that Heinz 57... Most Americans subscribe to it. I have to admit, every time I see you, your face looks so exotic and beautiful. You wield that makeup wand well, but, I know you have to start with a pretty nice palette.

Long comment short, you paint a stunning picture. I have always meant to tell you that. ❤️

I hope you have a #SublimeSunday!

Thank you, @dswigle! That means so much! Being on the north side of 60 means it takes a little longer to make the palette presentable! 😁

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 18000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 18500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Looks like a fun event, too bad you forgot to take some important pictures… like the fry fish OMG how could you? Just kidding… It was nice to socialize, I feel you. I’m still NOT doing it. I’m not going out yet. But hopefully everything will get back to normal soon.

Our numbers have been much better here, and my friends and I are all vaccinated and boosted, so we feel okay going out. Sure wish this whole pandemic would be done for good!

Thank you for stopping by. I know, I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture of the fish basket. I must have been too excited to eat it. 😁