You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Byrd's Bakery: One Cookie at a Time

Something I buy very rarely as a treat for the family, coconut cookies made with butter, they simply don't go very far when arriving in the home.

These look and sound delicious to say the least.

!LUV Layout of delicacy shops, so enticing!

Sort:  

Oh, divine! Coconut cookies! (and coconut cake) Cookies and sweets are a special treat in our family. Thankfully, I don't live close to here, with free samples being thrown at you.

Some of the flavors are savory and some are sweet. Both are my favorites. 😁 Thanks so much for stopping by! 💙

#MarketFriday loves you!

Savory would be up my alley, sweet the rest of the family.

Although thinking back my Dad used to bake what we called Hertzogkoekies with his homemade jam. You will have to ask @lizelle for her best recipe, these are simply.... Oh yes delicious!

Hertzogkoekies are prepared from a pastry base with an open top that is filled with apricot jam. It is topped with a desiccated or grated coconut meringue topping and baked

Thanks for walk down memory lane, your shops are quaint still run in old family style making them all the more interesting.

Thank you!! I will ask @lizelle for her best recipe! Hertzogkoekie sounds almost Dutch? Apricot jam? And meringue! I am totally in!

The shops are still run family style, that is the fifth generation owning it, since the 1750s I really admire that kind of dedication and family working together to create lives.

Thanks, again, Joan! @joanstewart

True wealth normally starts from small beginnings keeping it in a family, always wonderful to hear of families able to run the same business over decades like this. 😇

I never thought about it that way, but you are so right. It is so wonderful to watch it blossom into a legacy.

Have a beautiful Sunday, Joan!

Most our Mom and Pop home stores have been swallowed up by big corporate, very few join together to still try, alas last two years did wipe a lot out as well.

Happy Sunday!

That is so sad, yet the same here. It took a lot out, but, people have a new appreciation for them and it seems we have new pop-ups trying to make a go of it. I know I try to support these places. I wish them the best.