Invictus Forge || You Got Game

in Market Friday2 years ago

First Image.png
On New Year's Eve, I pulled out a couple of board games from the cupboard for a family game night. The family had loads of fun. And I thought, hey I'll need to look for a few more games.

But today, when I walked into this place called Invictus Forge, I was blown away by how far we've come since Chinese Checkers, which we played on NYE haha.

IMG_2331.jpg
These guys are professional board gamers. They know all the games out there, they join tournaments and they win money.

IMG_2351.jpg
Like serious money. In fact, I saw a few of them busy checking out the cards they had received to see if they had winning cards. When I asked the owner what they were busy doing and he explained, I had to slip in that it was a lot like Splinterlands.

IMG_2349.jpg
There are board games for you to test out before buying. And the staff will even sit with you to teach you if you need some help.

IMG_2327.jpg
The price to play the board games - RM8 for the first hour, RM8 for the second hour, RM4 for the third and another RM4 for the fourth, after which it is free. This means you pay a maximum of RM24/$6 per day per person.

IMG_2328.jpg
I was today years old when I discovered all these board games.

The unfortunate bit is, most of these games cater to 2 - 4 players and that means 2 from the fam would need to sit out. That just won't do!

IMG_2336.jpg
The owner did point out 7 Wonders and guess what, up to 7 players. Did you guess that?

IMG_2337.jpg
You know when you play Gin Rummy, and if the group is really big, just add another pack of cards? The owner said some of these games don't work like that. If they say, up to 4 players, even with the expansion pack, it still remains at up to 4 players.

IMG_2338.jpg

IMG_2343.jpg
The owner invited us back on Sunday when he would have some time to sit with us and explain the games we were interested in, we are seriously considering it.

IMG_2348.jpg

I know friends who take this so seriously, they'd dress up for the event and be in character right through.

IMG_2332.jpg

IMG_2333.jpg
Exploding Kittens is similar to UNO but apparently has more action. This is one of the few games that go up to 10 players.

IMG_2334.jpg

IMG_2335.jpg

IMG_2339.jpg

IMG_2340.jpg

IMG_2342.jpg

IMG_2341.jpg
This is the game that started it all. We had game night with some girlfriends for Bestie_K's birthday. We were introduced to Splendour, and then we started looking around for more and this is how we ended up here. I have to say, I would have loved to get the Marvel edition but again, only up to 4 players - still thinking about it though.

IMG_2344.jpg

IMG_2345.jpg
Of course, someone was going to come up with a game around the pandemic LOL

IMG_2346.jpg

IMG_2353.jpg

IMG_2350.jpg
So many board games, so little time.

HEART DIVIDER.png

And that brings me to the end of my trip to the game shop. If any of these games look familiar, if you have a favourite among these, please do share. It would save me some googling :p

This is for @dswigle's #MarketFriday

THANKYOU.PNG

All images from my.gallery

Sort:  

When families of my sorority sisters came and visit, the go-to of the children are the board games in my family room!
image.png
But adults get to play our own games too!

Wowzer!!!
I am so impressed!!

Any suggestions to what I should start with for a Valentine Galantine do by a friend?

Loading...