I took off downtown to look for an Ukay-Ukay.

in Market Friday11 months ago

Collage_20230530_135519.jpg

Ukay-ukay is just come from the simple word halukay. It's the Philippine stores where secondhand items such as clothes, bags, shoes, and other accessories are sold at a cheap price. I believe that ukay-ukay is derived from a Visayan dialect which has the same meaning as halukay in Filipino which means in English to dig or search.

IMG_20230526_100200.jpg

That morning after having my 8 hours night shift I went to a place near downtown to take care of something important. After accomplishing my task I decided to drop by a store that sells ukay-ukay to look for bed sheets but unfortunately, they don't have the right size I'd been looking for, and since I was already here I just decided that I will try to see maybe I can find something nice for myself.

IMG_20230526_095936.jpg

IMG_20230526_095951.jpg

I think I have been to this store for the 3rd time already and the first one is just a quick visit inside for window shopping and for the second one I bought a pair of shorts and a blouse. The place is nice and the items are quite organized so aside from that they also offer good price so that is the reason why a lot of customers love to visit their store.

IMG_20230526_095917.jpg

IMG_20230526_100317.jpg

Honestly, I like ukay-ukay, but it gives me a headache when I'm in the area because I'm not good at identifying the best items from ukay.

Anyway, After strolling for almost half an hour I got myself this jacket from a great brand "Dolce & Gabbana" which cost me 120 PHP ($2.12) which could be useful for my work.

IMG_20230526_101016.jpg

I got again a pair of shorts and a blouse for both 75 PHP ($1.32) each.

IMG_20230526_101602.jpg

IMG_20230526_100954.jpg

Then I paid it at the counter and got a total of 270 PHP ($4.78)

IMG_20230526_101641.jpg

After having a hard moment finding the nicest and fittest piece for me which I believe I got at a good price I went home immediately because I'm super tired and sleepy already. The following morning I work on sanitizing the items I bought cause it's very exposed to any organism and there are a lot of factors to consider that should be sanitized first before using.

IMG_20230526_102741.jpg

The additional shot is taken outside the store already in downtown Cebu at this time only a few are still strolling around because it was too early but later that day you can see more of those people and there are more #MarketFriday stories that I could share with you hopefully one of these days.

That would be all for now. This will be my participation in #MarketFriday, initiated by @dswigle.
Thank you so much for visiting my blog and I hope you found it interesting!
Have a great day and stay safe everyone! 😘

Sort:  

Dig and search!! That is exactly what is done, yes? We call them Thrift Shops. (thrifty buys! QWe save money) I like the different names of these stores.

I think you did well and it is sometimes hard finding what would be the best bargain - there is so much in there to go through. The joy of all those selections. :) Cebu has such a nice downtown and I am sure there are lots of opportunities to for the challenge! Thanks for taking us along!

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world. Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!
Go to any type of market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service. It can be a museum, a movie theatre, or an auction. Be creative!
Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost? We like to compare prices, otherwise it is just pictures of a market!
Post the pictures! No out of focus ones please! Tell a little bit about the pictures that you post. Having many pictures to scroll through does not make a better post without explanation.
Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated) If you don't, then #MarketFriday should be your first tag
Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.
#MarketFriday post should be submitted sometime on Friday UTC
The post MUST be in English
Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it

#MarketFriday loves you!

Exactly @dswigle, you just have to be patient in digging and searching until we find the good ones. Downtown is the busiest place in the City for businesses hopefully I can visit there soon again and see the things I can share with your community. Thanks for the appreciation and thank you for the details you share about how you call it there. Best regards!

You are welcome! I hope you have a nice week ahead!

Halukay in Filipino which means in English to dig or search.

I have been trying to figure out the origin of the word for the longest time.
So basically ukay-ukay is saying "dig dig" 😂... That's another similarity to Jamaicans. They say descriptive things for you to know what something is about:)

Haha, it sounds like that Cam since ukay-ukay is a Cebuano word that is usually described when we need to look/find something and we need to dig or search in that file of stuff.😁