Fishermen's Evenings

in Market Friday2 years ago

IMG_20220707_190729.jpg

Another Friday has arrived, announcing the upcoming weekend and all the weekend-related activities. Not that I could complain that I have worked so hard during the whole week, spending my energy on stuff that is not that interesting... Right now that is not true, as my days are so similar to weekend days, a long long weekend I am having before that first Monday, somewhere in September arrives. It will hurt, I know, but let's just focus on the good things. Fairs, street markets, concerts, parades, food... is it good enough for a Friday? More precisely, would it perfectly fit in the Market Friday community?

Oh, I am sure it will, as how the admin of this community, Denise says, (I am paraphrasing) she is happy to see the different cultures and markets from around the world. I am bringing here a fair that happened a week or two ago, in a small town somewhere in the ground of Eastern Europe.

IMG_20220707_185339.jpg

IMG_20220707_185442.jpg

This street market was held as part of a four-day festival called Fishermen's Evenings. It is held every year, at the beginning of July. The exhibitors are selling their handicrafts at these stalls, knitted and crocheted works, hats, scarves, toys, bags, socks... even a decorative parasol that is crocheted.

IMG_20220707_185400.jpg

IMG_20220707_185349.jpg

IMG_20220707_185605.jpg

If you like to decorate your house with flowers, those that will never die, you need some artificial ones. Though, not some plastic flowers, of course. These ones are made from materials from nature, such as wooden sticks, wattle or corn cob. The price of one of these decorative balls was less than one dollar. The flowers were a bit more, but the price of them didn't even reach 1,5$.

IMG_20220707_185543.jpg

IMG_20220707_185514.jpg

Now, we are situated on the stall where one Hungarian culinary speciality is offered. Kürtőskalács is one of the most famous Hungarian sweets, but I just learned that its origin is Transylvania (Romania). You can buy them in different versions, dipped in ground hazelnuts, walnuts, sugar, cinnamon and the like.

IMG_20220707_185755.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

For your garden, there were also decorative plaster figures. Different types, shapes and sizes, from ladybugs to frogs, cats, owls, snails and mushrooms.

IMG_20220707_185255.jpg

The smiling mushroom is happy, and do you know why?

Because today is also #FungiFriday :)))

IMG_20220707_185308.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

This was especially interesting as the man, who called himself Paja Kaktus, was selling succulents and cacti. Many of them, small and already a bit bigger ones.

IMG_20220707_190813.jpg

IMG_20220707_190833.jpg

I would not like to touch this cactus without protective gloves. The thorns are very small and almost invisible to the naked eye, but your skin would feel every sting.

IMG_20220707_190856.jpg

With these ones we are safe! No thorns :))

IMG_20220707_190847.jpg

IMG_20220707_190818.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

The event, Fishermen's Evenings, brings also a lot of music, dance, and cooking competitions to the citizens of the town and tourists that visit it during these days. One of those musical performances is the parade of majorettes, which is accompanied by the music of the brass band.

IMG_20220707_192452.jpg

Musicians relaxing, before they started to play...

IMG_20220707_192338.jpg

... and now already in movement. The girls did it very well.

IMG_20220707_192518.jpg

IMG_20220707_192542.jpg

IMG_20220707_192536.jpg

I walked away with these girls that day, and now, I am walking away also from the screen... 🎶🎶🎶

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

I like the smiley faced mushrooms because mushrooms are nice and happy and nothing to be afraid of. = }

Yes, it was cute. Though, if you find a nice, red mushroom in nature, don't try it... maybe it is one of those we should be afraid of :D 🍄

Btw, did you try some of the typical Hungarian food when you were there?

Mhmm.

Please don't make me tell you what I think. I envision myself as your favorite virtual stranger and don't wanna screw that up. Dot dot dot dot.

Just four dots? Hahaha, I suppose you left the country hungry... :D

Ahh.. mm.. ugh.. hmmm.

My eyes immediately went first to the crocheted bag and knitted socks! 😍

I loved seeing all of those succulents too. This looks like a really fun and festive street event. Thanks for sharing ~

Haha yep! This is my type of festival. 😄

Oh wow I actually missed it. It is very elegant. Someone really took their precious time on that one...it's so beautiful. 🤩

Thanks for pointing it out.

I also think it needed patience and time to be finished. 😃

Both of those for sure. 😉

I knew you would like them 😇

Did you see the white parasol (from the second photo)? It was sooooo nice and elegant 😇

Its been quite a while since I last visit a street market. Thank you for bringing us there! Love seeing the handmade crafts and the cheerleading band. And oh how i missed the Kürtőskalács. I remember trying that when i first travelled to Eastern Europe back in 2018. 😋

Wow, you tried kürtőskalács? That's great, seems it is more famous internationally than I thought. Did you like the taste of it? It can be pretty sweet, I like it but usually I can't eat one entire cake.

Haha i shared with a friend of mine. The taste was okay for me, as I'm not a fan of cinnamon. But i like to eat the "dough". 😄

I love all those knitted items. beautiful and neat, Impressive! and the cactus especially the string of pearls.

I am glad you liked them 😊
Thanks for stopping by @franzpaulie

The crocheted products and the intricate handcrafts are enticing.. The succulents look unreal... Lovely

The handicrafts were so nice, I agree. The crocheted stuff is made by the ladies living in the town :))

Loading...

I want some pendants and necklaces from there, kürtös of course, as we don't cave that with candies.
Must have been a nice day :)

The necklaces and pendants from the third photo were cool! Though I know, later I just pile them up and I keep forgetting to wear them. So I didn't buy any at this event...

We must have been sisters in my previous life as I do the same 😂

Oh I would love to buy that Minnie mouse figures.It's my favorite.

Also I am awe always with musicians. WHen I was still studying, I wanted to join the school marjorette.
Sadly, I wasn't able to make it..

Oh, sorry to hear you could not fulfil the dream to join the majorette...

But a Minnie Mouse is coming then for you if it is your favourite :)

untitled.gif

Hahha thanks, I had a lot of things with this design😆

It is very cheerful event, I love traditional ones specially. Handcrafts seem very good I wish I would be there ☺️

That's a neat little market. I like the succulent stand. I always love seeing a bunch of plants all in one place.

The Kürtőskalács look like an interesting treat.

There was another stall with plants, not succulent though. Also, it gives a relax-time :D all that greenery :))

Sometimes I prefer shopping at the street market because apart from the affordable price, the goods are also very good and of good quality. @mipiano 😁

The markets are always more interesting for me too. The food markets are cheaper indeed, but the handicrafts are sometimes a bit expensive. However, here I saw affordable prices.

Is this in your area or are you still in France vacay modus? Regardless, nice market actually there with tons to do and see.

I love summer festivals!

Oh, France is already just in my memories :)
Now I am in Serbia - still vacation mode as I will start to work in September. Plenty of time for doing nothing until then :D

What a wonderful market @mipiano 😊 it will do perfectly.
You enjoy your time off. Well deserved. Don’t even think about September hehehe 🤭 just enjoy!
The sweets are looking delicious.
And so much to see. I do love the succulents stall the most. Wonderful to see so many. 🌱🌱🪴🪴🌱🌱🪴🪴

The band and all the festivities are great in summer time. The whole community gathers.
Thanks for sharing! Have a great weekend 👋🏻☀️💃🏻

Hahaha,ok, I try not to think of September but enjoy the moments that I have now.
Indeed, a festival is a good opportunity to gather people, and not just from this town. People are coming from other places too.

However, when this event finishes, the town is more calm and empty.

Have a great weekend you too @littlebee4 🌟

That’s good @mipiano 😁
Yes, so nice to see, people come from other places too.
Of course, time to recharge!
Thank you so much 👋🏻😁☀️💃🏻

It was a very harmonious and natural event. smileys are so cute. flower stalls look very beautiful. It's a very good article.

The mushrooms smile? Sweet indeed ;)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @mipiano! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow, thanks for the badge 🥂

You're welcome @mipiano, enjoy it!! Have a nice day 😊👍

I wonder why it's called Fishermen's evening.
I initially expected to see some fish😅

Because there is a river that passes by this town. In the past, there were many fishermen, and a lot of dishes were prepared from fish. During this event, a competition is held, preparing a speciality called fish stew, and initially, it was the highlight of the event. Now, the competition is still held but so many other things are added too :)

What an interesting history. I hope the fish stew tradition is kept. Feels like it's important history.

I wouldn't mind having a piece or two of that wildly fun looking jewelry.

That display piece of the wicker/straw flower pot with the tall flowers in it would make quite the statement in a big room.

Love all those succulents too. I think I need to get a few.

Looks like it was an enjoyable time with lots of fun things to see.

I wouldn't mind either, having some of those cool jewellery... though I know, later I forget to wear them :D

Wow, that one is cool, right? the straw flower pot and tall flowers in it. A big room would be needed for that :)