Success The Great Northern Meetup | Halifax | Saturday 18 June 2022 12-5pm

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

The #marketfriday organised by @dswigle allows us to share cultural ideas. One culture that is often overlooked is our own. The hive community culture.

I've had the pleasure to meet 100's of Hiviens over the years and we do have a lot in common and it's not the pursuit of money. Contrary to what many non hiviens think.

Most notable is the idea that life can be better if we have an ethical approach to our dealings with each other.

Today a group of Hiviens including a few witnesses met in the northern town of Halifax. Most of us had never met before but the conversations were non stop from the get go.

Attendees:

@@@rimicane (epic travel blogger/photographer)
@onw (Ex miner and doge king)
@dandays plus 1 (In reality I'm a mess with my game face on)
@livinguktaiwan plus 1 (epic travel blogger/photographer)
@stevenwood (wordsmith looking for simple answers to share ideas)
@molometer (Videography, photography and other things that end in graphy or ology)
@planetauto plus 1 (scuppered - Lady Dorothy's welding isn't finished, so we can't make it) 🤦‍♂️😂👍
@schmoogleosukami plus 1 (witness)
@grindle (epic urban explorer blogger/photographer)
@slobberchops (epic urban explorer blogger/photographer)
@shanibeer (Hive Financial Education projects)
@c0ff33a (witness Coffee impresario)
@goblinknackers (International man of mystery)

If I missed anyone let me know in the comments.

When you see a list of usernames like that above it means very little but when you see real people who each have their story and reasons for being in this space and who have taken the time and effort to get together from all over the world to discuss the future and the now of our blockchain you realise how much we all have in common.

All of us have different skill sets and interests which converge on and benefit Hive's further growth.

Hiviens Assemble

20220618_195403

I jokingly challenged @livinguktaiwan to a 'blog off' on today's meetup.
You don't 'have' to do a blog Pauline. 😂👍

Both of us and no doubt many of you are feeling a little exhausted after the last couple of years of Covid19 restrictions and creating content believe it or not takes a lot of work sometimes it just gets to much and we need time to recharge our batteries.

@c0ff33a's small coffee roaster he's got a big one too but that's another story altogether


20220618_155333

We spent the afternoon sampling sandwiches, cakes, fruits and @c0ff33a's coffees from all over the world and we watched a few batches of coffee beans being roasted in between chatting about blockchain developments.

Checking the coffee roast colour

20220618_201710

Fascinating to watch and learn something new about the whole process.

Coffee roasted to perfection👍

20220618_201632

A big thank you to @shanibeer and @c0ff33a for organising this meetup.
It was great to meet you all.

Believe it or not this meetup represents approximately 10% of the #teamuk cohort. Looking forward to #hivefest in Amsterdam. 🤯👍

20220618_155305

Want to try Hive Blockchain high quality coffee, you can order here https://whiterosecoffeeroasters.co.uk/collections/specialty-coffee/products/brazil-nuts-hive-blockchain-arabica-roasted-coffee-1kg?variant=32699329249327

Sort:  

I was trying to see what you tagged me for and I just realized you edited the post, so it recalled me. :)

That is okay. It was nice to see the meetup again.

Le sigh.

Still jealous. 💙

Haha sorry you missed out. I edited the post to include this link to promote @c0ff33a 's delicious Hive coffee. 👍

Want to try Hive Blockchain high quality coffee, you can order here https://whiterosecoffeeroasters.co.uk/collections/specialty-coffee/products/brazil-nuts-hive-blockchain-arabica-roasted-coffee-1kg?variant=32699329249327

Haha! I already saved the link! I told you I am totally jealous! :)

Do you think you'll make it to hf5 in Amsterdam? That would be brilliant.👍

I have been watching the travel from here. I want to say I hope, but, it isn't looking quite promising for me to cross the pond right now.

I am still watching, nevertheless. I wouldn't want to miss an opportunity if it is to be had!

Keep your eyes on the prize as they say. There is a proposal to fund some of the ticket costs etc. Check in on the @hivefest blog.

For me, it is more the time and opportunity. I take it that you are going? How fun! You get to go to all of them! :)

What a great day! It was a proper social event and I have thoroughly enjoyed speaking to everyone. Was nice meeting new people in real life too! 🥂

P.S. - it is @rimicane not @rimicaine 😉

Duly noted and corrected @rimicane that's what happens when we copy lists of names with errors. There were several 😊👍

I've been filming with the drone all day and got the shots I wanted.

I'm currently sitting in a pub in Hayden Bridge in the northern part of England. I haven't been in a pub in years lol. It's very cool though.
Everything went really well at the meetup. It's so good to see the people behind the usernames.

You always throw the coolest parties in the UK! How fun it is to see everyone! You should have live-streamed it. Wait! Did you? It is so fun to meet after knowing people online for years, and finally putting a face to the name. Yes! Even if you use your picture, it is still different.

Look at that @c0ff33a go! I hear the Rwanda roast was to die for. Or it was a killer. Don't remember. Definitely made a statement.

Most notable is the idea that life can be better if we have an ethical approach to our dealings with each other.

This. Definitely this! Thanks so much for tagging me and letting me enjoy the meeting of the minds.

#MarketFriday loves you people!

Hi Denise sorry for the delay in replying but I've been on the road.
It was a great meetup and the coffee was outstanding. Robert gave us all a bag of his #Hive roasted Brazilian beans and it's aroma is mind blowing 🤯🤯👍

All ethically sourced by the way. @c0ff33a deals directly with the farmers which is brilliant in itself.

That's the way we change the world. One person doing business like this changes the whole process eventually.

More people drinking that coffee spreads the idea faster.
☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕

👍👍👍

It's great meeting you in person at last!!
Blog off on it's way when I get home tomorrow, but I don't think I can beat that coffee fountain you get there, that's a great shot!!!

Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels up north

Good morning to you. It was a pleasure to meet you too. I've been watching your travels for years.
I'm sitting in the YHA car park in Howarth (Bronte country) and just heading off up through the national parks to vindolanda. Weather is looking bad for drone but we'll see how it goes?

Looking forward to your blog 😊👍

That's typical isn't it, you blink and the sun is gone! Hopefully the weather improves and you'll get some fantastic drone footage, otherwise a great travel post will be equally awesome

I got the drone footage hooray! Now the fun starts lol

Fun or hard work 😉

A bit of both 🤦‍♂️😊👍

I abandoned the trip to Scotland as I was feeling rather exhausted after getting the drone footage from multiple locations.
I made the 6 hour drive home and slept like a log! 😂👍
I'll start editing after a few days rest. It was so cool to meet you both. 👨‍💻👍

100's? I don't know much about real estate but that's a lot! The pleasure's mine.

Thanks for having us @c0ff33a. It's 8:30 on Sunday and I haven't slept yet, wtf's in that Rwanda roast?!

😂 I was still awake still at 3 a.m.? It must have been the excitement of so much hive energy in one place 🤯👍

I really wish I could have been there too. I'm sure there were great conversations and damn fine coffee.

!LUV

It was excellent and as always when a bunch of us get together there is never enough time to chat to the length we would all like.

Very interesting and enthusiastic conversations about just about everything.

#mindblown 🤯👍

It was a pleasure chatting with you. Really enjoyed this meet.

It was interesting to hear your experiences with what we discussed.
Just goes to show we have so many things that we are dealing with and sometimes it feels like we have no clue.

I learned a lot from today's meetup. Can you point me in the direction of any blog you may have written about your experiences setting up the witness etc? 👍
Edit lol

Was a pleasure to meet you.., see you in Amsterdam soon!

It was great to meet you too. I could talk to you for hours about abandoned properties.
I'd really like to make a documentary about it tbh. Or even a series. If you're up for it?
Chat in Amsterdam 👍

We can talk at HF5, I am quite camera shy, unlike @bingbabe (the other half) who's a poser.

I can always film you in silhouette mafia style lol @bingbabe is welcome to jump in.

fabulous time, as always, and still not enough time to talk to everyone as much as I would have liked to. so great to meet up in person, especially after such a long time.

Good morning Shani, same here. The time just flies when we all get together. So much to share and so little time. HF5 Amsterdam 😊👍

How cool is that, that some of you met and had a great time…
Pretty cool 😁😎
Have a great Sunday all 👋🏻

Yep it sure was amazing. Getting everyone together takes a lot of planning and effort but it's worth it. 🤯👍

I can imagine… the lot of work /planning bit.
But if it’s a great day and so much fun, yep… all worth it 👋🏻😊🤩
Enjoy your Sunday!

Hi @molometer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Wow - looks like you all had a great time. Good luck sleeping tonight with all that lovely coffee !
!ALIVE

@molometer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thanks for letting me know I'm alive! Even with the coffee I'm in bed already 🤦‍♂️😂👍

Congratulations @molometer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @molometer.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow the who is who of Team UK?
I have only the sight from outside but as often as I see you guys supporting and keeping together its real great that you set it up this way :-)

@dandays very hive active yesterday! First the UK meetup than the ecency (no dadays voice but) voice chat :-)

It's great to see everyone in person. Wonderful people with a lot in common. Hivefest is going to be amazing 👍

That's just wonderful! So glad that you guys can have meet ups like this.

It's always a pleasure to meet people in real life. It's nice to put a face to the username.

That indeed is true.

lol, .. 'international man of mystery'. I agree !! , great to meet everyone some I know from before, some new. Next stop HF2022 hopefully.

Amsterdam is going to be amazing if past HF's are anything to go by and being it's @roeland 's homeland I'm sure we'll get the true flavour of the country.
Exciting times for sure. 🤞👨‍💻👍

So cool that you were all able to have a bit of a get together! I have to say I am a bit jealous! 😁

It was great but we can always make a difference by holding a local meetup.

We have had a few meetups pre Covid19!

Good time to be organising buddy. 👨‍💻🤞🤯☕👍

As you would expect we got the call today Dorothy finished and fully MOT'd she also missed our 1st very own automotive event where people travelled from as far as Aberdeen, people who came to see her especially... not ideal.
Looked like a blast, hoping these are more frequent :)

PS if anyones heading to Goodwood FoS please shout and we'll grab a cup of tea

Sounds like a case of Sods Law lol typically things happen when we least expect it.
Good to hear that it passed the MOT 😂👍

Thanks, @molometer - it's a real cause for celebration, as she is now ready for the Retro Run at Silverstone Classic.

That's brilliant news. Maybe we could do a meetup at Silverstone?📷👍

Thanks, @molometer - it means we are ready for the retro run at Silverstone Classic, so it's a big silver lining right there!

Annabelle 😊

I was gonna turn up but wanderlust grabbed me and dragged me to the Balkans,

The Balkans sound interesting right now. Maybe we'll see you at HF in Amsterdam?

No its not cool. !!!! the mercury hit 39C yesterday, talk about sweaty bollocks!!!

@molometer afraid not, @slobberchops mentioned it to me awhile back, but I was already booked up, travelling from Armenia to Azerbaijan 3rd to 21st september. I look forward to seeing the uploads and maybe next year I will make it!!

Armenia to Azerbaijan

Jeez you certainly get about. I'm totally unfamiliar with either of those places. I'll have to catch up on your blogs. 👍

Wanderlust! @molometer

Yep I've got a bit of wanderlust too. I'm in Devon at the moment and the weather is sweet. 😎👍🏼

the pointy bit down there is gorgeous when the weather is good 👍

The Coffee is divine, I'm really glad I bought some on the day. I might even get to have a cuppa if I can keep it away from my Daughter.

I'm looking forward to filming my first brew up when I get a spare 10 minutes lol