Shopping for fabrics at Oshodi market.//.my market experience

in Market Friday10 days ago

There is no denying that we all shop or buy one thing or the other. It can be our staple products, impulse products, luxury products, and so on. And each of our purchases is for a reason or to serve a purpose. Whether it is a need or part of our numerous wants.

Going to the market we all have typically two ways we value our item or product of interest; either by its differential value(this means when you value a product because of what that product has to offer) or reference value(this means when you value a product by its competing prices). Most times as a purchaser, I tend to compare the prices of products or the quality of products with competitive products before I can make my purchase.

I went to Oshodi market with my mum to get some fabric for my fashion projects. Oshodi market is a very large market which constitutes a lot of competing sellers. It offers a large range of products like clothes, shoes, bags, accessories and a lot more. Oshodi market is one of the notable markets in Lagos. It is known for it wide range of fabrics; from lace to ankara and other fabrics, even tailoring materials too. The reason I like buying most of my fabrics from this market is because it is not as far as the other markets to me.
Going to the market I had few fabrics on my list, but the first on my list was a silk material I wanted to get for my client's clothes, so it was the number one fabric I wanted to get on my list. Moving around the market I saw some people selling scrap silk for as low as 700 nairas ($0.6 approximately) per yard and my mum persuaded me to check if they would suit my taste.

My taste is quality, and I prefer to buy things that are a little more expensive than the regular price because I feel like they are of better quality (idk it's just my mentality haha). But since my mum told me to check, I did. They actually have a few quality silks but they are all stained and I don't think I want to go through the stress of dry cleaning them. I had to go to various shops but I couldn't find my “taste quality” so I had to settle for one with a fair quality and I ended up buying this red silk fabric.

After getting all I planned to get, as I was leaving the market, I looked at that roadside seller and I thought that it wouldn't be a bad idea to buy from them, I checked through their stuff and I ended up buying this navy blue fabric, I don't know what the fabric is called but it's light and feels like cotton. It will be nice to make a shirt with it. I would have loved the fabric if it were white or any neutral color. I got some floral materials too.

After approximately 4 hours of roaming in the market, I finally got all I wanted. I was tired and under the hot afternoon sun of Lagos. Going to the market is really stressful in my opinion, I'd rather just shop online, it is just easier and it saves time too.
My overall experience is 2/10 literally. I wasn't able to get the exact quality wanted, I had to walk around which was draining and the sun washir and scorching.


I hope you enjoy reading this blog.,
Poser: how do you value a potential purchase or product?

You can comment your answer below.



Thank you for visiting my blog and have a fabulous day ❤️✨.



All images are mine and the thumbnail was created using Canva