Market Friday - a Farmers’ Market in St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands

in Market Friday4 years ago

This #marketfriday post takes us to a tiny island in the Caribbean, St. Thomas, part of US Virgin Islands. I lived there for 10 years, mostly part time, traveling back and forth to New Jersey.

Going through my photo albums, I put together this little post. Thank you @dswingle for maintaining this community!

So... let’s go!

St. Thomas holds plenty farmers’ markets throughout the year, almost weekly, for local farmers. But the most important one is the yearly gathering of farmers from nearby islands. St. Croix is the main one! Farmers come by boat a couple of days in advance to showcase their amazing products. Many deals are to be made, future contracts and agreements.

Here are some shots I took a couple of years ago. This woman was selling plants. She was so happy, smiling all day long. I had a small talk with her, she was from St. Thomas. That’s what I love about Caribbean culture. People are so friendly and they open up so easily. No wonder they say “there is no secret in St. Thomas”. Everyone knows everything about everybody. 😊

8F6162E2-071B-4F8D-94A1-7BC3D9B86833.jpeg

Fresh produce that tastes divine. There are so many varieties of root veggies, like yams, for example. The American sweet potato is not even called yam. It is just sweet potato. The yams I saw there are white yams and yellow yams. I love yellow yams, they are a little bitter, but soooo delicious and full of health benefits.

Look at the people in this photo. They talk and talk and talk. 😂🤣😂 No secrets here, I mean it. Gossip at its best. These people are story tellers, for sure!

7AB73AE7-B7B7-47D7-A296-6F4D52B687C4.jpeg

A deserted stand? Yeah, why not? Merchandise sells by itself, it looks so good. The owner is probably chatting somewhere close by.

C6129D71-106D-4525-8176-CD1F7A5C8E3D.jpeg

Ohh... I love this Rasta man! He is so full of knowledge when it comes down to medicinal plants. There are many Rastafarians who prepare all kind of dried mixtures of herbs, tinctures and stuff like that. Genuine “bush doctors”. I admire the way he presents his plants... those posters... hand written... how cool is that?

24188F6D-B99F-48E5-9CCD-43136F9BD803.jpeg

That’s it for today. Interesting, right? See you next week!


F1B56A61-CB2E-44D1-A22F-B836D20DD84E.png

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg


peakdfooter.png
PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain

Sort:  

So relaxed, great way to go shopping all outdoors with so many friendly faces, gossiping I am not so sure.

Have a wonderful day and thanks for cheerful post.

@tipu curate

Thank you for visiting. Yes, very friendly market and very friendly people.😊

Awesome market, @starjewel. Thanks for sharing! Take care 🥰🌺🤙

Thank you, I visited your Wednesday walk post, I love the gifs you make. 😊

Wow, interesting. Yes Rasta know about natural healing. Markets are great for chats. Really important for local societies to keep up with the goings on. Same all over the world I reckon wherever they have local markets. Very nice post.

Wow it looks like a Nigerian market. Love your piece.

I apologize profusely as I know I did this comment when it came in, I even remember what I said, but, Saturday and Sunday the site was wonky for me and I lost some comments (I thought they all came back Sunday.!) How lame, but, too unbelievable to not be the truth.

Yikes, right. Who needs truths like that the day before #MarketFriday as I scramble to make sure there were no strays left behind.

I love the vibe of St. Thomas and most of the Virgin Islands. The people, their stories, and their joyful banter. I know that you loved it! I know I am enamored by the lifestyle. I can't believe you lived there for ten years and came back to New Jersey full time. But, there are always family and who can stay away from them.

I love the pictures you show off and I look forward to seeing more pictures, living the life. :) Thank you so much for sharing these and for being a part of #MarketFriday and showing it off to the world!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @starjewel! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.