Market Friday: The antique shop is moving

in Market Fridaylast year

PXL_20230407_091058883.jpg

Greetings, friends! I decided to continue my story about my visit to the old Palace of Culture. You may remember the beginning - I went to the book fair, and at the same time saw an exhibition of paintings, amazingly beautiful interiors, and many interesting details. The room with the painted ceiling and the crystal chandelier in which the exhibition was held was the former theatre auditorium. If you exit this hall through a side door, you can come to the foyer. I did an internet search for old photos of the place and found this one:

eHMQ12LkECI.jpg
View of the foyer of the Palace of Culture. 1933. A photograph from the exhibition "Split View of the Palace of Culture", organized by the directorate together with the Nevskaya Zastava museum.

This picture was posted in a social media group. Some time ago there was an exhibition on the history of the building and the organisers had published some archive photos on social media. The photograph, taken in 1933, shows a typical theatre foyer. There was probably a counter in the corner of the hall and spectators bought ice-cream or lemonade during intermission. The centrepiece is a portrait of Vladimir Lenin. Well, some continuity is maintained: a bust of Lenin can be seen in the hall right now.

PXL_20230407_091152089.jpg

The text on the sheet inserted in the typewriter reads: "I'm old! Please don't touch me!"

PXL_20230407_091232169.jpg

The organisers set up a survey of participants in a social media group, asking them to share their memories of using the hall in previous years. Locals told the group that a children's dance studio used the space in the 1970s and 1980s. Later, in the 1990s, a book fair was set up in the Palace of Culture, which occupied the entire ground floor, while the first floor was used for antique and souvenir trade.

PXL_20230407_091252094.jpg

PXL_20230407_091308645.jpg

Now the antique shop is moving to other premises, in another wing of the same building. I caught the moment when most of the items had already moved into their new showcases, and only a small number of paintings, figurines and household items were still in their old places.

PXL_20230407_091236496.jpg

PXL_20230407_091338779.jpg

Members of the social media group have repeatedly asked what will be housed in this room in the future - a question I have repeatedly encountered when searching for information about the hall's past. The management of the Palace of Culture maintains a mysterious silence and writes comments along the lines of "Let it be a surprise!". But in neighbouring posts questions have been raised several times to locals about the past of this Palace of Culture and I have a hunch. Perhaps they are going to set up a local history museum in the former theatre foyer? I'll keep an eye on how things develop - I wonder if my hunch is correct.

PXL_20230407_091210424.jpg

PXL_20230407_091227110.jpg

Right now a small exhibition on the history of this area of town is going on in the front staircase. But that's just a few information boards with text and photos. Meanwhile, this area of the city has a complex and interesting history; it would be curious to know details that didn't make it into the short articles of the guidebooks.

PXL_20230407_091452189.jpg

PXL_20230407_091500583.jpg

PXL_20230407_091404988.jpg

PXL_20230407_091535626.jpg

PXL_20230407_091418424.jpg

PXL_20230407_091544672.jpg

SmartphoneGoogle Pixel 3a
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia

This is my entry for the #marketfriday challenge by @dswigle.

Sort:  

There are some wonderful bits of history there @tatdt love it! especially that diver's helmet and the old typewriter. Great post again cheers

Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed this post! I love looking at all these old things - they're like shards of time gone by.

yes I totally agree, and you bring these places to life, great snaps

The antique shop is very nice, lots of unique and rare looking items are sold there, the shop even looks like a beautiful museum

Thank you so much, I'm glad you found this post interesting!

Items are so antique and authentic..did you purchase one?

Oh no... I love looking at these things. but I don't like buying them. I'm a fan of minimalism in the home.

That's great then..i love a minimal house too.

It's good that there is no queue of buyers for these figurines and symbols of that era :)

Supply clearly exceeds demand at the moment :)

100% :)
!BBH

@tatdt! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @barski. (1/1)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tatdt.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow! What a historical Palace of Culture. How I wish I could see an exhibit of antiques once more. Surely if my feet lead me here, I would have lots of wonders and I would be thrilled to see a glimpse of some historical facts about each one I see. I see that you were having a great time strolling here my dear friend. Have a nice time and blessings to you. Happy shopping and a bountiful market Friday as always! Take care.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked this post!

What an interesting space this is! I do remember the book fair and this wonderful relic of another time. The details in this building were filed away in my brain, they just don't have the same concept of building anymore.

I like the old photograph of the lobby of the theater. Look how grand it looks, whether one agrees with Lenin doesn't matter. I like that they don't hide history, but, show off the truth. It adds credence to the entire museum.

Palace of Culture and the making of a new space, wouldn't that be nice? I think it is a perfect place to do it, it would get a lot of traffic that it would not normally get, yes? It certainly would be a place I would love to peruse on a day off.

I am always interested in the backstory of history or even current life. :) Thank you, once again for making #MarketFriday look so good!

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

I think that history should not be hidden - we should remember and analyse the past, we should not lose the experience of generations.

I'm very interested to see what will come of the idea of a museum exhibition (if I guessed their plans correctly). I'll have to visit the place in due course and see the changes! Thank you very much!