Market Friday. Two department stores: the old and the new

in Market Fridaylast year

PXL_20221127_114925673.jpg

At the beginning of winter, I had to be concerned about buying new warm clothes. I visited several department stores and shopping centres, and two of them I want to show you. The first is the old Fashion House on Petrograd Island. During Soviet times it was a legendary place. It was here that the most fashionable, the most modern and the most daring outfits were sewn. Many women dreamed of having clothes from that House of Fashion. But I don't remember the heyday period - I was too young at the time. Jeans interested me more than feminine outfits and jeans were sold in a completely different place.

PXL_20221127_115641420.jpg

As far as I know, there was a huge showroom on the first floor of the building, where fashion shows were held. Designers, cutters and seamstresses worked in the workshops on the upper floors. Some models were made in small batches, others were adapted for sewing production - in this case almost all decorations were discreetly removed to simplify the production process. The House of Fashion published its own magazine with the designs. These designs could be ordered for bespoke tailoring in the atelier.

PXL_20221127_115153631.jpg

PXL_20221127_115159024.jpg

I decided to visit this legendary department store more out of curiosity than in the hope of making the right purchase. I had no information about the current state of the store, and I didn't even know what range of goods was on the shelves. But the beautiful storefronts hinted that I had nothing to lose from such a visit.

PXL_20221127_115452208.jpg

PXL_20221127_115017632.jpg

I read somewhere that a small atelier continues to operate on the top floor of the building, but on the whole the Fashion House is now similar to the other department stores. Except that it's more spacious and the interior is more stylishly decorated, and the view is beautiful - if you look out the street from the large clean windows.

PXL_20221106_140354435.jpg

The next shop I visited was a new mall built in a bedroom community near the metro. I'm sure you all know what such shopping centres look like. I have repeatedly seen pictures from such places in posts from my Market Friday friends who live in different parts of the globe.

PXL_20221106_140432367.jpg

PXL_20221106_140544105.jpg

I walked past the pizzeria near the entrance to the mall, and went straight up to the first floor, to the clothes shops. I took the escalator, but I could also take the lift or the normal stairs on foot.

PXL_20221106_140405764.jpg

PXL_20221106_140454403.jpg

The glass panels in the centre of the corridor are a special feature of this shopping centre. Through the glass you can see the same corridor of the ground floor. I really liked that solution. I know that some people are panic-stricken by walking on the transparent floor, but here everyone has a choice: the glass areas are easy to walk around, along the wall there is a wide passage made using more traditional materials. The result is both beautiful and safe.

PXL_20221106_140516199.jpg

PXL_20221106_141141650.jpg

At the end of the corridor you can see another café, as well as a chain bookstore. After trying on lots of things, you might want to try some bodily or spiritual food. This is the standard layout for this type of department store. The range of goods on offer is about the same everywhere, but the specific items and brands on offer vary from mall to mall.

PXL_20221106_140910498.jpg

PXL_20221106_140945617.jpg

PXL_20221106_141207808.jpg

SmartphoneGoogle Pixel 3a
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia

This is my entry for the #marketfriday challenge by @dswigle.

Sort:  
Loading...

https://leofinance.io/threads/@curamax/re-leothreads-2a9fpzjkg
https://leofinance.io/threads/@hopestylist/re-leothreads-35wwxsg6l
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( @curamax, @hopestylist ) sharing the post on LeoThreads.

Wow, the shopping mall is looking so beautiful and transparent, hehe. I love those glasses and the clothes look elegant too. Where you able to get what you wanted, I wonder because you didn't mention that or did I miss that part? 🤔

I really didn't write anything about the purchases - it took me a while to find exactly what suited me, and it was in another shop. Thank you very much!

I can relate with that, most times it's like that. But it's a good thing you were able to get what you wanted at another shop, that's what matters most 🥰.

It's my pleasure, I actually saw this post on #leothreads shared by someone and I don't regret visiting ❤️.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Loving the glass floors and the reflections of the lighting. I can spend hours in a book store Cheers @tatdt

Thank you so much!

Beautiful shops.
I don’t like when one can look through floors or when it is open with those iron grates…
I never will walk over it hahaha 🤣

Thanks for sharing it all, and the changes @tatdt 👋🏻😊 happy Friday

Luckily there is a choice in this corridor:)))
Thank you very much! Have a great weekend!

Luckily there is hahaha 🤣
You are welcome, thanks a lot. Enjoy yours! 👋🏻😊

That's a nice walk through of the mall. The glass panels are cool although I can only imagine how others would not be that keen on walking on those. I like the different shapes of lights used on the hallways too. Happy #MarketFriday!

Thank you very much!

WOW that is a pretty impressive mall so style is spacious and clean

is been ages since i have bene to a mall but you may have inspired me its time to do so

I like visiting small shops, with unusual interiors. But shopping for winter clothes is too important, the main criterion is the wide range and the large selection of goods. Thank you very much!

The mall looks very cool, I like the lighting all big led lamps and the transparent floor too, I would love to live in a place with cold weather, probably its just me complaining of the heat and humidity of where I live

Thank you very much! The frost is exhausting too. There are few places on earth with an ideal climate, and man is a very capricious creature, though hardy:)))

Nice interior of a shopping center,glass that can see from other floors. The clothes on display are also good according to the price. Thank you.

Thank you very much!