Market Friday

in Market Friday2 years ago

Market Friday

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Hive, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.
This is the one tag and challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post, I am going to share shots of three food places, starting with the Frates Milk Bottle Building.

Now I have driven by this a few times, and have meant to go and get shots of it for ages, well I finally did last week, I thought it was a cool and unique style building


MF Milk crate-1.jpg

Sony A7iii 34mm F11 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


But looking it up I found there are a few Milk bottle buildings here in Massachusetts and some in other states as well, so maybe not that unique but I still think it is pretty cool, I have also found where some other ones are not to far from here so I plan to go and check them out soon


MF Milk crate-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F11 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


The Frates Dairy company was based in New Bedford, Mass., and is known for having built three buildings shaped like milk bottles. Two of the three have survived. This one is in New Bedford

the Milk bottle is 52 feet tall

the building was originally an Ice cream stand, then a restaurant built and operated by Frates Dairy company.
bottle-shaped building was constructed by steaming wood and warping it to create the shape of a milk bottle. Once constructed, the bottle was then topped with a red bottle cap. The sides of the bottle were painted to resemble milk -- as it was delivered to homes during that time

it was a Frates restaurant till 2003 when it was purchased by a local couple who continued it as an ice cream stand, only to put it up for sale again in 2005.

G&S Pizza purchased the property at that time and still sells local Bliss Dairy Ice Cream in the warmer months as a nod to the historic landmark bottle


MF Milk crate-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 37mm F11 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Just across from it is a Restaurant Mikey B's here is their sign


MF Milk crate-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 72mm F11 1/200 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And the building


MF Milk crate-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F11 1/500 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And across the road is Pa Raffas, an Italian restaurant, there is also a Ma Raffas restaurant, I may be wrong but if I remember correctly someone told me the Mother of the family runs Ma's and the Father Pa's


MF Milk crate-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 47mm F11 1/2125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

TEAMUSAhive JJ.jpg

!pinmapple 41.697417 lat -70.934179 long Frates Milk Bottle building New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

I like this milk bottle building, have never seen such a building. Do you know if there are rooms inside? I can't see a window, but it must be cool to live in a milk bottle 😁


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

I don’t know if there are rooms in the bottle part but I agree it would be so cool to live in one

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :) !invest_vote

Oh yes, I would love it 😀


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINEX With @tattoodjay.
You Earned 0.300 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.317


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Milk Bottles, what a grand sight, wish the milk still arrived in bottled like that. Glass bottle used for mild and orange juice, delivered to the home about 30 years ago.

Milk bottle had silver caps and orange, well orange caps, superb photography don't know you other stores, look good and clean nonetheless well worth enjoying.

@tipu curate

Ohh yeah I miss the days of the Glass milk bottles, I used to watch for the delivery each day, and drink one bottle as soon as it was delivered, musty to my parents annoyance lOL

We used to pop the lid to get the cream off the top, those days you actually had cream!

I still don't drink this watered down milk it's just not the same...

Ohh yeah it sure tastes and feels different these days, I seldom drink milk these days just have it on my cereal

Only ever a drop in coffee, cereal with plain yogurt and fruit. Milk with this 'long life' makes me nervous of what additives go in.

Yeah it sure isn’t what it used to be


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The building looks very cool! It is immediately clear what is produced and sold in this institution.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 99 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
!LUV some !BEER now and again
Have a great day

"Bliss Dairy Ice Cream" Now that sounds yummy!, I love creammy dairy ice cream! Lovely shots, and also cool detail about Ma & Pa Raffa untitled.gif

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Great bit of nostalgia. Seems like there should be a few of those around Vermont haha Milk bottle looks well maintained. Thats always nice to see. They don't build 'em like that anymore so once these nostalgic buildings are gone their gone. Thanks for including the history. Fun post. Happy Friday

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
When I looked them up I saw a few in RI and MA, not sure if I saw any listed as in vermont
Have a great day

a sight I've never seen. this makes me want to go there.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

This is a cool building, good for advertising as well.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
tattoodjay tipped johannpiber (x1)
@johannpiber(7/15) tipped @tattoodjay (x2)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

I wonder if the milk bottle doubles up as a storage above!
Hehehe!

Hmmm o do wonder I would be intrigued to find out

A milk bottle looks like a simple architecture to just have but it's beautiful. Doesn't look kike it was built as more than just an aesthetic though. Would have been cool if people could get inside it.

Yeah it is a cool and fun design
Wouldn’t it be cool 😎 f it had an apartment in it

That would be dope.

Ohh yeah for sure

Ohhh I've always wanted to make my own marketfriday post from the very first time @dswigle talked about its launch but when I get to the market and take just a picture, I get so carried away with activities and negotiations that I totally forget to continue to take record.

I don't remember until I'm on a taxi back home and then I realize that the one picture I took isn't enough to make a post!😪😪

That has happenned to me as well, one day you will remember to get enough phototos to make a post ;)

I'm really looking forward to it!
Thanks😊

👍🙂👍

Wow!!!! rooftop bottle! it's definitely unique - it's the first time I've seen it. great idea and amazing execution!

First one of these I have seen as well such a cool idea

Loading...

This one looks cool and it makes me wonder what the other milk bottle buildings look like.

I hope to get some trips in and find more of them :)