You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Festival Called Spring by Market Friday

in Market Fridaylast year

Almost looks like Abbotsford where I live. Except we are still waiting for our tulips. I suppose I'll have to post picture of our tulip festival when it starts :) Anyways, here is a link to my marketfriday post this week. Hope it passes and hope you have a bit of time to answer some questions in the middle (if you don't fall asleep first :D )

https://www.ecency.com/hive-196308/@terganftp/what-s-for-breakfast

Sort:  

Hello!Hello! I am running so far behind with the weekend of Easter here. It keeps me running Friday, Saturday and Sunday, but, I am working as fast as I can. I am sure it is fine and I am sure I will be able to answer all the questions I can. :)

Thank you and I promise not to fall asleep! Did you fall asleep on mine? :)

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

All good :) I did read your post and didn't fall asleep. I do have one more question for you and since I haven't found a way to send a direct message I'll add it here :) I want to make a post about the cost of basic staple foods (flour, sugar, oil, salt, beans and meat). I'd love to get information about the cost of those items from other #MarketFriday users. If I send you some HIVE as a prize would you be willing to make a contest out of it? Or should I go about this another way? Side note: If you did say yes, how much Hive would make it worthwhile?

You can alway DM me on discord @dswigle#3637

The rest I'll get back to you a little later.

@terganftp I am not sure if you read other #Marketriay posts, but, if you do, you can see, most give the price of their items. I understand you want it in a different way, and sometimes I will give a topic for the week. What can you buy for $10.00? I actually do not run contests (at this point) on #MarketFriday. The reason is simple. I want to learn about different cultures, not compare. Contests incite comparing and are not at all what I am after. I do give prizes, every single week. More than two or three. I don't announce it and I don't call it a prize. I get some amazing posts and they are deserving of more than what I can give them in my vote. I vote each 100% but with all the posts I get, it gets a little worn out. But, I do not get complaints, so I guess it is okay.

If you have any more questions or concerns, you can ask here or discord! Have a great rest of your week!

Thanks for the clarification. One thing I really want to do is make a post entitled "Setting the bar on food costs"....basically looking at the cost of staple ingredients to decide if something is worth cooking at home or buying prepared. I would just love getting prices of basic staples from around the world and #MarketFriday seems like just the community to do it. To me staples would be :

  • Carb/Starch (ie. Flour, Rice, Potato)
  • Oil (ie. canola oil, olive oil, margerine)
  • Milk and Eggs (or equivalent based on area)
  • Dried Beans (type determined by area)
  • Meat (Beef, Chicken, Pork, Fish)

If you ever want to make that the topic of the week I'd be happy to chip in some HBD.

And totally understand if that is not what #MarketFriday is all about

I agree it is a brilliant idea, one that I have not even touched as a group hug as many don't get around like we do and must use a tuktuk, jeepney, or walk. There may or may not be money available. I just try to make it easier by not pressuring for particular things.

To be honest, some don't even read my post so when I do put something in there for the next week, they don't even know.

Many people in Asia don't cook at home. It has been proven time and again that it is cheaper to eat out than at home. I didn't believe it until it was proven.

I am not complaining about the HBD. It is fun for me to give it because it is not competed for.

You are actually wrong about it not being what #MarketFriday is about. It is so multifaceted, it has turned into a cultural affair. Food costs? #MarketFriday for sure. Eating at home/out? So very #MarketFriday! I can make almost anything into a #MrketFriday post.

I can post it, however, no contest would be involved.

Thanks for the reply. As you mentioned many of the users here have limited means. One of the posts that drew me to #MarketFriday was a mom budgeting her P2000 ($20USD) for weekly groceries. One thing I'd love to do...if you can think of a good way to do it.... is give two random members $10HBD and a challenge to bring home the best deals. A fun shopping challenge if you will.

Again, if its not a #marketfriday thing I'll try to bring it to #frugal not stingy....

But I'm so green at getting into blogger mindset I despair that I will never be a blogger.

Thanks for listening though.

I know who you speak of. She always does a great job. It is the same what can you buy for $10 that I do, but giving the money to them. It is a fun challengecand is always well recieved.