Soul Food for #marketfriday & #caturday

in Market Friday2 years ago

Chicken is a perfect bridge between #marketfriday and #caturday!

While searching my local market recently for convenient frozen items to keep on-hand for simple meals (since I live alone), I was looking through the selection of chicken. Most of the packages there were in the $6–$10 range for a bag of chicken pieces, most of them breaded. Suddenly, I spied a price tag that had $4 stamped on it. I looked closer, thinking my eyes had deceived me, but they had not! So, I happily added a couple bags of this item to my shopping cart.

The brand name on the package was rather amusing to my twisted little mind — John Soules Foods. Let me explain. Apparently, a man named John Soules founded the company in 1975, and the company's website says the business is still operated by the Soules family today.

However... In my part of the world, there is an old term called "Soul Food," and "John Soules Foods" sounds close to that term, even though "Soules" is a valid surname. If one researches a "clinical definition" of the term "Soul Food," one will find many references to the cooking practices of African-Americans[source] whose ancestors were forcibly brought to the New World as slave labor on plantations, a very evil and horrendous practice. But, to anyone who was born-and-raised in The South, as I was, the term "Soul Food" includes that legacy of African-American influence and so much more. It is cooking things the way "grandma used to do" it. It includes simple-but-hearty fare, often with an element of "Comfort Food" to it. "Soul Food" is what satiates on an emotional level as well as a physical level, such as: a warm serving of Mac-and-Cheese (made with real cheese and cream sauce)... real potatoes that have been cooked and mashed with butter, sour cream and then topped with a rich gravy... fresh greens from the garden cooked with a ham hock or fatback. That is "Soul Food" at its best!

Besides the great price, I was also impressed with the fact that the chicken I bought was fully cooked and only requires a short period of heating in an oven to be ready to eat. It's also quite tasty, seasoned well, and features all-natural ingredients. The website states that this item was originally offered as an ingredient for fajitas, but it is quite good as is, on a plate with sides of rice or potatoes or a vegetable medley.

As a side benefit, I can also cut a piece of two of it into little nibbles for Mr. Cat to enjoy. In fact, he enjoys this chicken a little too much, I think... it's almost like "kitty crack" for him! He can't get enough of it, eats it very quickly with much gusto, and then meows for more! 😂

His color-change is still ongoing and amazing to me. Sometimes he looks jet-black all over, like the Night. Then, in different light, or at a different time of year, his coat will show more of the bronze-chocolate coloring of the fur that is normally more of an "under tone" deep within. And then at other times as shown, he exhibits different colors all over his body. He is an amazing critter, there is no doubt!

I still have not pinpointed an exact reason for the change-of-color of his coat. It could be his age (he is probably 17+ by estimates), the environment in which he lives, the seasons, his food, or perhaps a foible of his Turkish Angora breed. I have no clue, but it is fascinating to watch.

So, yeah... John Soules Foods is good fare, in my humble opinion! Oh, and another thing about it, too — after purchasing it at one market for USD $4 per bag, I did a price-check at another market in the area and was shocked to see their everyday price on the same exact item is $7.82 per bag! 😱 So, I hustled back to the other market a week or so later and bought the last three bags they had for $4 each! And between the cat and me, they are almost gone. In fact, that might be what I fix for dinner tonight, s handful of John Soules' grilled chicken strips with some rice or veggies. What a lovely way to spend a #caturday with my #marketfriday fare! 😋

 😊

SOURCES
   1 John Soules Foods
   2 Wikipedia: Soul Food


       



22-Jan-2022

Sort:  
Loading...

I had a cat who was like a super detector for meat and chicken. He used to refuse to eat any, unless it was 100% organic and healthy.
They can tell which piece comes from hormones/steroids infused chicken and which is more healthy. And unless really hungry, they avoid what's not as good.

Also, Mr.Cat's fur colors look amazing. 😍

Oh, that is remarkable that he preferred organic & healthy! I think animals have a "sixth sense" about such things, and it's a shame we don't have it, too!

So I am curious, if it will fit into a comment :-)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 89 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @thekittygirl, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Congratulations @thekittygirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 12000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 13000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 20

Don't you just love a bargain? Plus it sounds tasty as well. Obviously your kitty appreciates it, and what an interesting thing about his fur! He's almost like a chameleon in a way!

Thanks for sharing @thekittygirl! Have a great night!

i tend to buy big packages of chicken (breasts, tenderloins) on sale, then, put them into smaller gallon ziplocks. The gallon bags go into freezer, and thawed, for the next night's meal.

thank you.

Oh wow, Mr. Cat is just gorgeous @thekittygirl ♥️ so so stunning. !LUV That coat of his is incredible and he looks super cuddly too💗I can't comment much on your Market Friday post as I don't eat chicken lol but always a good thing when you can find a nice surprise good buy. I love finding all the clubcard specials as I walk around my supermarket... they are even better when they are actually saving me money because they are savings on things I was going to buy anyway... otherwise...they can entice me to buy stuff I really shouldn't !LOLZ !ALIVE

@thekittygirl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@samsmith1971 you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 4 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!