You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Byrd's Bakery: One Cookie at a Time

in Market Fridaylast year

I actually brought home salted caramel cookies, but, I also got a box (see picture above) and filled it with scotch oatmeal, chocolate chip, key lime, and praline. I probably put different ones in there also, but I don't remember which. They carry gluten-free too.

I bought szaloncukor in the previous few days. Generally we (Hungarians) usually decorate the Christmas tree with it. I also like to buy a few more packs to eat them. And of course after the Christmas we remove the decoration, and eat those too. Usually we eat multiple kilograms of Szaloncukor every year around Christmas. Currently I do not know whether it is available in the USA, or not, but it is worth to look for it. Probably you would love it too.

!LUV.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Sort:  

It is candy and because I grew up with some Hungarians in my town, I am familiar with it, and yes! They did decorate with it, all the while the kids would eat from the tree. :) We can still get them here and are still popular with the Hungarians we have here in the States. They ones I still know anyway.

We do some of the traditional German Christmas cookies, lubkunchen. I love them and we hang them on the tree for decorations.

Christmas is such a nice time of year~

Greetings from Washington, DC

#MarketFriday loves you!

We can still get them here and are still popular with the Hungarians we have here in the States.

Good to read this. I read that some of the traditional Hungarian foods are available in the USA, and the local people like them. Especially the lángos.

We also have "foreign food" in Hungary, and I like them too. For example gyros and shawarma. These two are almost the same, but the shawarma is more spicy. At least this is what I currently think about it. I ate shawarma only a few times so far (it is new for me), but I ate gyros many times.

I really like shawarma! It is a little spicier, but, I love spicy! I also like gyros! I enjoy many traditional foods from different countries. The flavors are different from here and I find it interesting the way others blend flavors/foods.

I hope you are having a great day!

I really like shawarma! It is a little spicier, but, I love spicy!

Me too. I put Erős Pista (spicy paprika) into many foods. Mostly into soups.

I hope you are having a great day!

I had. Thank you. Today I walked in Szolnok, Hungary, and the Christmas lights/decorations are beautiful in the city center.

I hope that you also have/had a great day.

I got to admire the decorations too! It was a wonderful day and tomorrow should be a beautiful Sunday!

Spicy Paprika! Yummy!