You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bunnies at Market on Friday

in Market Friday2 years ago

Easter. The word "Easter" is derived from Eastra, the name of the ancient German Goddess of Spring.

We call it "Húsvét".

"Easter marks the end of the forty days of Lent, the preceding period in memory of Jesus' fasting in the desert. It is the first day after a period of fasting in Catholic Christianity, known as Lent, which is actually a "meatless" diet. (This is the Hungarian word for Easter: the first day of eating meat.)"

I translated the quote from above from the Hungarian Wikipedia article of Húsvét.

Happy Easter to everyone.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Sort:  

You can get thirty different meanings. Mine was from Wiki too, but, I went with a secular one. I am Catholic, so I adhere to Lent, but, many people do not. It is no longer meatless as it was when I was a kid. Now they just do it on Fridays.

Have a great weekend! Easter is officially April 17. I was giving a preview! :)