Its Market Friday: Check out our local Market in Uganda

in Market Friday4 years ago (edited)

It’s been a long while since I last went to a market to do some shopping. The Market Friday task that is pioneered by @dswigle has made me come out of the comfort zones and make my way to the market today. It’s quite a long tiresome journey walk to the market but I was so lucky to have been given a ride by a stranger who was just leaving my home area and heading to the market side.

It’s a very hot day. The venders are using papyruses to shield themselves from the hot sunny weather. As I walked by the different sellers they kept on calling me politely so that I stop by their selling places and support them through making a purchase of a few things from them.

The market is not so crowded because of the global Corona Virus incident that makes people keep a distance from other people.

Here we are in Mukono Market
IMG_20200605_130329.jpg

Papyruses providing shade to the market vendors.
IMG_20200605_123228.jpg

I first stopped by one selling point where a beautiful lady was selling silverfish. She was selling these in different quantities. She uses small different sized buckets to measure the different quantities and also price them differently basing on the amount the customer needs. I opted for the medium-sized bucket full of the silverfish that she was selling $1.5

This is the cheapest source in Uganda: Silverfish
IMG_20200605_124057.jpg
It's rich in proteins

I proceeded to another selling point where I bought some tomatoes, green paper, carrots, Onions, and “Birinyanya” a local ingredient.

IMG_20200605_124350.jpg

I also bought a saucepan. I had run out of saucepans at home as most of them had developed holes due to over mingling posho in them that often causes the saucepan to be burnt and cracked at the bottom of it. I am happy, I got a brand new saucepan today. I asked the seller, how many kilograms of rice can this saucepan prepare at a go? She replied “Just one kilogram.” Anyway, I wanted to get one that could prepare up to 3 kilograms since I always have visitors.

IMG_20200605_131150.jpg

Tracks keep coming in loaded with huge quantities of foodstuff from the gardens. These are then sold in different small quantities to the consumers.

IMG_20200605_132038.jpg

This is called "matooke." Some people prefer to call it bananas. It's all the same. Many people in central and western Uganda prefer this food type to any other food type. This type is very rare in the western world. It's mostly grown in Africa.
Matooke.png

This is locally known as Magadi Which is an ingredient that can be used to spice up the beans sauce.
IMG_20200605_125843.jpg

When you go to the market, you can't buy everything there. This is what I bought and brought home.

IMG_20200605_134150.jpg

IMG_20200605_134841.jpg

#Marketfriday

Thanks for viewing!
Lets hive on!

Sort:  

Wow! Thanks for taking me for a walk around your market! What is the local ingredient “Birinyanya” like?

That local ingredient is actually called Egg plant in English. It tastes like tomatoes.

That was awesome! Thank you so much! It was indeed a very interesting market! That is a lot of silverfish! Do they get them out of Lake Victoria? They show up as an independent meal and I am told that it can be used with vegetables, beans, and groundnut stew.

Is matooke what they make out of those? They looked like plantains to me, which I absolutely love, but, you are calling them bananas. I might have to look it up. They certainly come in big batches! Oh, a new pot! That looks like it will hold quite a bit of rice! You will have to break it in and let me know how it works! I always have company too and frequently cook more than I would ever eat.

So nice that everything is fresh and looks delicious. The very best kind of ingredients. Your market was fun and I so glad the vendor was shaded in the hot sun. I will bet it was a hot walk home! I hope you got a ride back!

Thanks for joining! I appreciate the love and support you are giving to #MarketFriday! Without you and people like yourself, I wouldn't be able to have such a successful challenge! I know that it is one of those challenges that take a lot of time and effort to be part of, so it means a lot to me that you participate. Thank you again for being a part of all this and I hope that you will, indeed, have a great day and week ahead!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Thanks so much! Yes.. the silver fish is got from lake Victoria. Those are called bananas In English. They are a fruit of a banana plantation. Could you show me how plantain looks like in your country. Let me share this photo with you for further clarity on the banana (matooke) that is still hanging on the plantation.
IMG_20190809_095357.jpg

IMG_20190809_095405.jpg
Took these photos last year using my phone camera.

The cooking pot worked so perfectly. I used it to prepare more rice that was enough for 6 people.

Yes... It was a very hot sunny ☀ day. I hired a public moto-bike back home.

It was really nice participating in the market Friday for the very first time. I enjoyed the experience. Looking forward to participating every Friday.

thanks so much for your kind words and generous support.

It is 11pm here, so I am sending you a Google image.

image.png

They look like bananas, which are much more popular here than the plantain! They are starchier and sweet when cooked. You can eat them raw also, right from the vine.

I was so happy to have you join us! I look forward to seeing you again!

Have a great weekend and stay safe!

!tip

Okay...we call those, "yellow bananas."
You can also obtain those yellow bananas when you store the matooke for some time. They ripen and become like those yellow bananas.

Thanks for sharing. Glad to learn of those.

Thank you for clearing that up! :)

🎁 Hi @yohan2on! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

#posh
Shared on twitter

🎁 Hi @yohan2on! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.