You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Arañas fantasmas del género Hibana y algunas diferencias con arácnidos de la familia Sicariidae

in StemSocial2 years ago (edited)

That is a fascinating blog. I have never before heard of spiders that are synanthropes--although I guess the spiders that come in the house at the start of winter would probably be in that class.

I love your pictures. We don't kill spiders in my house, although I have to admit if I saw one that looked like a fiddler I'd probably smash first and look closely later :)

PS:
I was looking at videos of the 'fiddler' spider and realized this is what we call the brown recluse around here (New York). The video helps with identification. I think I have an idea of what this spider looks like now. Here's a link

Sort:  

Hello @agmoore! yes, usually people kill the spider out of fear, because, many do not know if that spider can be dangerous or not; but always what I recommend is to relocate them in a place away from home.

Indeed, the fiddler spider is also known as a recluse spider. In the video you can see the inverted violin-shaped pattern on their head (prosoma), this is the hallmark of these medically important spiders. Also, whenever someone is bitten by a spider, it is important to do everything possible to capture the specimen and take it to the health center, so that doctors can know which spider it is and what treatment should be given to the patient. When the spider is not taken to the doctor, the doctor has to guess and it is in these cases when the affected person is most harmed. Thank you very much for your comment and support to my blog.