You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mimetismo presente en ejemplares del orden Mantodea

in StemSociallast year

Greetings!

Where to begin?

This almost reads like a detective story. The mantis in disguise, hiding in plain sight. A delightful read.

A mantis does not sting. I never knew that. An immature mantis in disguise can be distinguished by its large eyes. Thank you. The next time I see a large ant I will look at its eyes for identification :))

A mantis can detect a bat's sound and confuse the bat's flight pattern.

The video of the mantis cleaning its eyes is amazing.

Whenever I stop to read your blog I am richly rewarded. Thank you very much, @abneagro

Sort:  

I'm a little funny about the detective thing, because while I was writing the post I was imagining a spy story hahaha. On the other hand, mantids do not sting, do not have venom and do not transmit diseases to humans, however, some of these insects reach considerable sizes and you can get to feel a pinch when they use their front legs. Mantids that reach a good size can feed on some birds and reptiles, being the prey of a mantis is not pleasant at all, as they eat their victims alive very slowly. Thanks for your support and comment @agmoore, best regards.