You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond the Standard Model of particle physics - a wild wild world…

in StemSocial2 years ago

Thank heavens for Distilled. Where have I been? I missed this. But here I am. As I read this blog I find my understanding builds on previous blogs you have written. I understand how the Standard Model doesn't answer all the questions about the nature of the universe. There are contradictions between the theory and observation--ex: neutrinos are supposed to be massless and yet oscillate into each other so must have mass. To those of us who read your reports from the world of theoretical physics, it seems you are on the frontier as the early nineteenth century scientists were on the frontier of nuclear science (radioactivity, structure of the atom, and on and on). Observations, that lead to questions, that lead to observations...

I think there will never be an end to the questions. After all, it is they mystery of the universe (of existence itself?) you explore. Thank you for another illuminating blog.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I was indeed a bit surprised that you didn't comment the blog of this week. I am glad to see that finally you managed to find it! ;)

Your summary of the post is totally correct!

I think there will never be an end to the questions. After all, it is they mystery of the universe (of existence itself?) you explore. Thank you for another illuminating blog.

That's the whole purpose of science: asking questions, then finding answers, which next leads to more questions! That's a virtuous cycle, somehow.

Moreover, I would like to emphasise the usage of the word explore (similarly as in the discussion following a comment of @duke77 in the French version of this post). We are at a level where we need to explore beyond where we are, to understand better what is going on. The excitement is that there is no way to know where exploration will lead us (and when it will lead us somewhere).

As you know, my training is in the social sciences, liberal arts. As such, I am more likely to see the adventure and creativity in your theoretical studies than someone might who is trained in the 'hard' sciences.

One of the most charming aspects of your posts (yes, charming!) is the excitement you convey for your research. This is contagious--essential in a good teacher. You are that. A theoretical physicist who opens the universe, just a little at a time, for the rest of us.

Have a great holiday break with your family.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for this feedback. I have very little of comments of this kind, and they really please me! ;)

Have a happy holiday time as well!