You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Composite dark matter at collider-cosmology crossroads

in StemSocial2 years ago

Finally, I put aside everything and begin my physics lesson. Nice to have you back, because that means you are feeling rested. Let me start my response to your blog by saying the best diagram here (because I understood it clearly) was the one created by someone named @lemouth :)) When you described how the different particles might interact (in that diagram) it made perfect sense to me. Indeed, it is a beautiful graph.

As I have stated in comments previously, the wonder, the attraction of your study for me is that you search for something that 'should' be there--dark matter. This has to exist in order for the universe to make sense, as it is understood according to the Standard Model. Anomalies can be rectified with the existence of dark matter. So it must be there. As you say, dark matter was born"

to restore agreement between data and theory.

And yet, physics has not been able to prove, absolutely that it does exist. Elusive, necessary, and irresistible.

As always, I thank you for opening a window unto the mysteries of the universe.

Take care, @lemouth.

Regards....

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thanks for passing by! I am a bit rested but still traveling a bit (this time within France). I am finally back home and write the next step in our citizen science project, to be released tomorrow :)

When you described how the different particles might interact (in that diagram) it made perfect sense to me. Indeed, it is a beautiful graph.

Thanks for appreciating my sense of humour. I actually use the very same graph in official research talks :)

And yet, physics has not been able to prove, absolutely that it does exist. Elusive, necessary, and irresistible.

Totally! All our proofs are indirect, and we are still fighting hard to get a direct observation. Hopefully, I will see this within my lifetime ;)

Cheers!