You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Googling your ill-health symptoms may be a bad idea

in StemSocial4 years ago (edited)

Dear @gentleshaid,
Once again you entertain with an amusing article--amusing, but with serious intent. Best combination for writer to capture an audience :) However (the dreaded however), I must disagree, gently, with your premise. Looking stuff up has been of great benefit to me, and my family in the past. Helped me to avoid possibly dangerous treatment. Helped to diagnose a rare condition from which my brother was suffering. And, most of all, helps me to participate in medical decisions...I become a partner, not a passive recipient.
I do agree that Googling stuff can get out of hand. Once I've gotten the information I need, I have to stop otherwise I experience the same kind of hysterical reaction you describe. The most dreadful scenarios are possible. And the pictures! Hard to resist the grim impact of some photos.
So, I agree and disagree. Look stuff up. Be informed so you can protect yourself and your family. But don't dwell on the unpleasant stuff. That will only make you sicker :))
Regards,

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Thank you for the heart-warming comment. I pointed out early in the post that the internet is filled with information; some very useful and applicable while others might be inimical to us. While this is a good thing for those that can discern between good and bad information, it is not the same for those that cannot. Even some of us that can easily distinguish between the two can fall prey sometimes, not everyone has the self-control to stop when then get the needed info.

Yes, it is a delicate balance...particularly for those of us with vivid imaginations.