You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Referred Ocular Pain or Referred Headaches

in StemSociallast year

Some years ago, when I was in my third year of medical school, I was fascinated by how much could be known through the eye. The first time I got to see the back of the eye was magical. From then on I started to go deeper into this, and when I learned that it was important to analyze the fundus in people with hypertension, I found much more sense to this test.

My mom is hypertensive, and the fundus exam is something I do with some frequency. Being able to see inside the eye is exciting.
And it is real, when for some reason her blood pressure goes up a lot, the pain is not only in the back of her neck but in her eye, and she gets red eyes. We just have to know how to observe, and we will know much more about the patients.

Thank you for this great information.

Sort:  

I am happy to know you perform funduscopy for your mum nd every now and then, it can really give us so much information about a person’s ocular health as well as systemic health.

I do remember how it felt the first time got to see the fundus too, it was truly magical and exciting, haha, thanks for the reminiscence Doc