Slugs Attack in my Garden — How Can we get rid of them?

in StemSocial13 days ago

20240419_183557-COLLAGE.jpg

Hello Stemsocial Community! Welcome to my blog. For a couple of days, my garden has been facing the Slug Attack. Every tender plant and seedlings are damaged. I can't bear their leaves torn into pieces. Hence, I also did my research and have taken some pieces of advice from some zoologists and agricultural companies to get rid of these Field Slugs in my garden. It had been two days, Field slugs have not only decreased in number but also I have found fewer attacks by them on leaves.


Scientific Profile


Scientific Name: Deroceras Agreste

Common Name: Field Slugs, Grey Slug

Class: Invertebratae

Phylum: Mollusca

Scientific ID: Gastropods

20200810_123402.jpg

20200810_123349.jpg

20200810_123356.jpg

20200810_123342.jpg


Slug's Diet


Slugs are vegetarian. They like to eat tender plants and seedlings. They are found in wet and moist soil. Plants' leaves are mostly damaged by Snails and Slugs. When they attack on a garden, it will be tough to control in the beginning but we can if you like to read my current post. They are hermaphrodite and some slugs lay eggs.


How can we get rid of Slugs?


I successfully controlled these slugs after taking some essential steps recommended by some experts. Control Slugs in the garden is easy nowadays as we have modern plant technology that helps. To get rid of Slugs, we have to take the following protective measurements.

  • Use of Slugs Predators like Ducks, Reckons and non-toxic snacks
  • Change the moisturized land into dry land
  • Spray to the Plants that are under Slug attacks
  • Use Diatomaceous Earth (soil with many Diatoms, Plant-like algae
  • Use Copper wires, and eggshells around the plants
  • Daily make rounds of your garden and kill slugs manually

These are some of the helpful tips I have been implementing in my garden. Alhamdulillah slugs are not a big issue for me. I love Nature and I love plants. It was a wonderful experience to tackle with slug issue. If you are facing a slug issue then share it with me, and we both will guide each other to save our plants. Thanks!

Note:

All pictures are taken by me, so don't use them without my permission.

Source

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/aslamrer/re-aslamrer-32bq78mcl
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( aslamrer ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support.