You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chemistry of the cosmos (Part-1)

in StemSocial2 years ago

Thank you for these valuable notes, sir. Of course, you may :) , because your comment is as valuable as your articles, which I always benefit from.

(The first terrestrial science to find extraterrestrial applications was mechanics, which provided astronomy with well-known services and served as its foundation.) I mean, that to explain some cosmic phenomena, scientists had to use the principles of classical physics.

  • (CERN has done better than this in the LHC: 1000 atomes per cubic centimetre) Thanks for this note, next time I will be careful to choose the sources of information carefully

My sincere greetings to you

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

(The first terrestrial science to find extraterrestrial applications was mechanics, which provided astronomy with well-known services and served as its foundation.) I mean, that to explain some cosmic phenomena, scientists had to use the principles of classical physics.

I agree, but didn't we need optics to observe them first, before even trying to describe them?

Ah I understand now.
I believe that both optics and the laws of mechanics played a major role in understanding cosmic phenomena. In 1609, data on celestial bodies began to be recorded with the telescope invented by Galileo Galileo. Isaac Newton also wrote a book in 1687 that described and explained his gravitational laws, which were intended to explain cosmic phenomena.
So I agree with you Sir: we need optics to observe them first.
Thank you Sir, my best regards to you.