You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Tonsils: Should You Keep Them?

in StemSocial2 years ago

Very interesting your article, especially caught my attention because at the age of 9 years old I was operated and my tonsils were removed, the same surgery was used to scrape the adenoids, then at 13 years old I was operated to intervene surgically on the turbinates.

At that age I had very little power of decision, but I would have liked to decide not to have surgery, but I can no longer return the time, thank God that I am well, but I still do not understand today why I had those surgeries.

Greetings and thank you for your valuable contribution.

Sort:  

Thank you for stopping by, @carlos84. I am sorry about those (unnecessary) procedures. Fortunately you survived with what seem to be no serious consequences.

I'm guessing you must have had means and access to medical care. I was very poor. While there are many disadvantages to being poor, at least the poor receive a lot less medical care and probably get to keep their tonsils 😄 (in the U.S., anyway).

Seriously though, one has to wonder how many of these procedures would be performed if doctors and hospitals didn't make money from doing them.

I appreciate your comment and hope you have a great Sunday.