You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new STEMsocial engagement/reputation system

in StemSocial4 years ago

I am completely sure that from this the comments in the publications will increase considerably, I think that people should feel motivated with this initiative.

I have a question Ben, does the algorithm filter comments in all languages? I know that in Spanish yes because I am looking at several authors from our Hispanic community in the list. But German, Italian, Chinese, French, etc etc ?

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I hope people will get motivated as well. We however still need to brainstorm about potential rewards (even symbolic ones). Any suggestion is welcome.

I have a question Ben, does the algorithm filter comments in all languages? I know that in Spanish yes because I am looking at several authors from our Hispanic community in the list. But German, Italian, Chinese, French, etc etc ?

There is no language filter here. All languages are competing with each other. Chapper is there for instance, and I think he comments mostly in German. hat you see is probably related to the size of the various sub-communities. The French sub-community is barely existent, so that this is not surprising no French-speaking author are part of the top 20.

 4 years ago  

Great then, I think I told you some time ago that we reward weekly the best 5 authors with the most positive comments (related to the topic of the publication) this could work and with this new system everything is easier because it is automatized!

 4 years ago  

Wouldn't this require comment curation (to select the best comments), and therefore more work for our curators? When we are dealing with rewards, we must be 10 times more careful and we should think twice before automating the process, shouldn't we?

 4 years ago  

In that case I think you are right, I read the comments of all the publications and set a score on a 1 to 5 pts basis depending on the type of comment. Maybe the curators if we agree we can divide the work by area, like for example: Shaid and Chapp the publications of biology, health, Matowl mathematics, I can take care of the ones of physics, chemistry, engineering and so on. It all depends on the availability of each curator. It's just a proposal, it doesn't mean it's like that, there may be other options