You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sickle cell anaemia: pathogenesis, triggers, clinical features and treatment ...

in StemSociallast month

I'm not sure it's been used in humans in general. The problem would be reside in repeat sequences. You have to cut the nucleotides of interest out and then it gets "repaired" with the dna you're trying to insert.

Sort:  

Yes, I think I read about that too...
Well, we just have to wait for it's first human use and then look out for the possible complications it might have... Once the benefits exceeds the disadvantages, I think we're good to go

I think we're quite a ways away from that. Many problems from sickle cell are secondary to the morphology of the cell right? I'd say it'd be really hard to fix this condition without genetic modification.

Absolutely correct.... All their problems are from the defective or rather point mutation on the chromosome