You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 years of discoveries in particle physics - building the Standard Model brick by brick

in StemSocial2 years ago

Noooooooo!!!! I didn't want to kill you, really. ^^

As a funny coincidence, a fresh bachelor student asked me and colleagues earlier today what quantum mechanics was. It is very hard to explain but the impact are easier to grasp. It explains why matter is coherent and not falling apart. It also explains while although any stuff (object or being) is mainly made of vacuum, it has a solid envelope somehow. And it is damned counter-intuitive in its first approach.

If you are interested, I wrote a bachelor's level primer book on quantum mechanics (in French). Otherwise, I am afraid that I do not know what to answer without having the question more specific.

Sort:  

Don't worry, my job has made me used to big headaches.

One thing that helps me put things in perspective is to remember that when I sit down, my ass never touches the atoms of the chair Hahaha

Yes, I am interested :)

 2 years ago  

Where have you heard that sentence? We used it yesterday too :)

Would there be a quantum entanglement between France and Thailand? 🤔 Hahaha... I probably heard it on Youtube, video of scientific popularization or replay of a conference (Alain Aspect, Julien Bobroff, Roland Lehoucq, Marc Lachièze-Rey, Étienne Klein...)

 2 years ago  

Hehe I see. I however don't see for quantum entanglement with human beings ;)