You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Neural Networks & Deep Learning: A.I in Biology

in StemSocial2 years ago

Thanks for providing this nice complement to your previous post. I knew the AlphaFold and RoseTTAFold names from elsewhere (not only from your posts) but I have never taken the time to dig deeply into what these were.

Most crucially, it is worth saying that I'm not implying these A.I. technologies will eventually replace scientists who research proteins. We wouldn't have the technology if these researchers hadn't amassed vast databases of protein structures over decades. The A.I.s are only important because they will make it easier for humans to accomplish more tasks. For example, biochemists can quickly develop and test artificial proteins, allowing them to create novel proteins that we can only fathom. Biologists will also have unprecedented access to understanding the history and nature of life! The future of biology is looking fantastic!

Of course machine learning will never replace scientists. machine learning is a tool, and it is important to use it wisely. Also, machine learning has its limitations. It is just that parts of our job will be different. It is more an evolution than a replacement, from my own perspective.

Sort:  

I sure agree with you on the perspective of the tech being more of an evolution than a replacement. They are here to ease research..

Thanks for reading through!

 2 years ago  

You are welcome!