You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citizen Science on Hive: Report #2 - (A bumpy road to) simulate particle production at CERN’s LHC

in StemSocial2 years ago

I would love to read again some of your normal posts too. There is however only 24 hours in a day and 7 days in a week, and there is not much we can do about it. However, don't worry, the next episode of the citizen science projet will be a bit lighter than the previous one, so that I won't take too much of your time ;) The reason is that we need to deal with the installation of another program (which may be super quick for some, but rather slow for others, depending on the system and how linux is mastered).

PS: I am definitely from the same generation as you, and I have experienced the same situation relative to programming. I was studying at the university during the end of the 1990s and the first half of the 2000s. Now, I am mostly dealing with codes in Python and C++. However, Fortran is still there a lot, in particular in the core of MG5aMC :)