You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Citizen Science" Project Activity Report 3 - Deciphering top quark production at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider

in StemSocial2 years ago

Thanks a lot for your hard work. I have reviewed the report and you can find some comments below. I hope this will help you to go through all problems. I can also give you some hints for the assignments, if you ask for them ;)

Anyway, let's begin my report on your report!

To start with, I assume that there is a typo in the title of this report. It should be ‘report 4’ and not ‘report 3’, shouldn’t it? In addition, there is something odd with the image 5. I cannot see the histogram. I have the impression that the screenshot has been cut too early.

I proceed to make another cut to focus on the events contained in exactly one lepton in order to prepare the study of its properties. To do so, I execute the following instruction:

 select N(l)==1
 
> However, when I opened the HTML document again I could not find a table showing approximately the information expected in the tutorial.

Have you typed resubmit? If not, the analysis has not re-run and it is thus normal the table is not generated.

At the moment that's all I have. For the next attempt, I'll take a closer look at the exception raised, though if @lemouth or anyone else in the community is already familiar with the bug, I'd appreciate the feedback. I hope to report my second attempt with the solution as soon as I can.

For the problem, this is a bug I fixed in MA5 a few weeks ago. There was one paragraph about it in my post:

If at this stage the code crashes, please update MA5 from GitHub (I have just fixed a bug due to a change in Matplotlib 18 months ago). A simple git pull from the MA5 installation folder should be sufficient to update the package.

It is thus sufficient to git pull the code again, and retry what you were doing. This is due to changes in the names of some attributes in matplotlib routines. See here for more information. As you can see, you only need to change two lines to have the code working.

I am looking forward to read the rest now! Please do not hesitate to ask me questions related to the assignments (and tag me so that I could be notified).

Cheers, and thanks again for your work!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thanks. I'll get back with you later!