You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citizen science: Calculation of same-sign di-muon total rates at the LHC run 3

in StemSocial2 years ago

Finally, I have found the time to check out this report. Sorry for being so late on it. It was a bad timing, with me disappearing for vacation and having less time than expected before leaving for Canada. Anyway, I am back and thanks to @gwajnberg, I remembered that I didn't comment this blog. Today I fix this, with two comments.

First of all, congratulations for having achieved all the tasks. The plots you have shared are beautiful. Note that you may want to add units (fb) on the Y-axis to make them perfect.

Second, I would like to comment on this:

However, from the table below, the corresponding cross section values of the neutrino mass values are different for the simulation results of 13 TeV and 13.6 TeV.

This shows that there is a gain in reach with every little increase in collision energy. All production rates get larger, so that rare events become slightly less rare. On the other hand, background becomes also more frequent, so that there is no free lunch.

Please note that in case you missed it, I released episode 6 earlier today. I am confident that you will be able to go through it very quickly) :)

Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks for the comments, I'd add the unit when I redo the plots. This a gentle reminder for me to read through my progress reports before I take on the next tasks for the episode 6, which is a perfect activity for this coming weekend. :)

This shows that there is a gain in reach with every little increase in collision energy. All production rates get larger, so that rare events become slightly less rare. On the other hand, background becomes also more frequent, so that there is no free lunch.
Does this implies that there's a negative consequence with higher collision energy in terms of having more frequent background. But on the good side, the processes were are interested becomes more occurrent?
 2 years ago  

This a gentle reminder for me to read through my progress reports before I take on the next tasks for the episode 6, which is a perfect activity for this coming weekend. :)

I am thus looking forward to read your report at some point next week. Feel free to ask questions if needed (although I am sure this is a natural extension of what you have already done so far, so that there may just be no question at all).

Does this implies that there's a negative consequence with higher collision energy in terms of having more frequent background. But on the good side, the processes were are interested becomes more occurrent?

More background does not necessarily mean more background with properties mimicking those of a signal. Each analysis at the LHC performs a selection of relevant events. This targets as many signal events as possible, and as few background events as possible. In general, once the full analysis is implemented, even if the background rates increase by a lot, the number of selected signal over the number of selected background events may stay favourable to us (although the analysis may need refinements to get better background rejection).

Does it clarify?

Cheers!

Ohh, that explains clearly to me. And that's the work (designing the analysis and selection rules) we're doing, right? By the way, I re-plot the figures above, incorporating the addition of [fb] units to the y-axis label.

For the 13 TeV:

13TeV.jpg

And for the 13.6 TeV:

13.6TeV.jpg

 2 years ago  

And that's the work (designing the analysis and selection rules) we're doing, right?

This is the work we will do once signal and backgrounds will be both simulated. Note that we will not perform the study blindly as I have good ideas of where to go, but there are parameters of the analysis that will have to be determined.

Thanks also for the new plots. It is unfortunately too late to include one of them in my presentation at HiveFest (because I was too pushed for time). However, one of those in the previous version appears (together with your name) ^^

Cheers!