You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond the Standard Model of particle physics - a wild wild world…

in StemSocial2 years ago

Is it what you had in mind with your question?

Yes, totally, thanks for your answer

antimatter particles must be prevented from being in contact with matter

I thought we were able to do this by using electromagnetic fields so that there is no contact with the matter.

Thanks for the link to ELENA Project

Can you elaborate a little

My main idea was that if we can't do it with matter try it with antimatter or both Hahaha.

If I develop, I was thinking if we can create a space between both (matter and antimatter without contact or interaction), neutral like Switzerland, if the dark matter passes inside maybe it will have a reaction somewhere (on matter side, antimatter side, or both) due to an oscillation of the dark matter or another cause?

For the laser part after thinking of it I probably take the wrong way because we are at the atom level and not the particle, it means nothing can be done with it before finding the particle of the dark matter (if it's a particle as we understand it) and probably after too because I don't think that dark matter will be a constituent of something similar to an atom.

Having fun is the most important aspect!

I know that it's a lot of work with a lot of data 90% of the time but if one day it will have a particle or model named @lemouth it will be very fun 👍

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I thought we were able to do this by using electromagnetic fields so that there is no contact with the matter.

Electromagnetic fields are exactly what we use to trap antimatter. However, antimatter is not trapped forever. If I am not wrong, it can only be trapped for at most 1/4 of an hour (that's the record, but I may need a little update here). See here for instance, which confirms what I had on the top of my head.

To discuss your proposal for dark matter, this is exactly what is done today... but with matter only. Here, heavy nuclei are used (like Xenon). For what concerns antimatter, we only deal with anti-hydrogen for now, and this won't work for sure as hydrogen or anti-hydrogen are both too light.

One crucial point that is probably killing your proposal is that dark matter needs to pass through the detector material to interact with it. Note that we have atoms in the detector but dark matter can interact with their nuclei only (via fundamental interactions with quarks and gluons), or even with their electrons. So that this specific item does not matter much.

Please let me know whether this clarifies. Cheers!

thank you for all your answers, clarifications, and reading links to keep me busy :)

 2 years ago  

You are very welcome. Be ready to be even busier in a close future :D