You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love Is a Good Thing: Grandmothers and Evolution

in StemSocial3 years ago

I have previously heard about the grandmother effect in elephants and killer whales. In fact, for them it is even something more, because both species also have a matriarchal society, in which the oldest females are the leader, for everyone.

And it is really interesting to observe this on the example of people. And much easier. For example, it is quite obvious that the grandmother provides strong physical support in the upbringing of babies. Believe me, when my mother-in-law comes to visit, my wife and I can relax for a few hours without thinking about the child.

And the cooperation of my wife with my mother is not so strong, in terms of the child. I think this is due to the fact that she has very sharpened instincts towards her child and it is quite difficult to let "strangers" people near him. This effect works even with me. I see that my wife is calm when her mother is busy with her grandson, and I am also calm.

Thank you for the high-quality article! :)

Sort:  

Thank you very much for visiting and commenting.

As we look around in our own lives we can see examples. But science doesn't let us do that and draw conclusions. It's interesting when research supports our subjective impression.

Looking at my own home, my mother was invaluable in the early days of raising my children, especially my first child. I didn't know what I was doing. She probably save my son's life :))