Recovering from vaginal tear after childbirth.

in StemSocial2 months ago

Personally experiencing a third-degree vaginal tear has been a highly painful and traumatizing experience for me and I do not wish any woman to go through such discomfort, I learned a lot with my experience as I had first-hand instruction with the medical team alongside other things I had to research on. Without wasting time let me get straight into writing about vaginal tears.

A vaginal tear is a form of injury caused to the tissue around the vagina and anus which could happen during childbirth. Another name for vaginal tears is a perineal laceration, it is not an uncommon occurrence, as it happens in almost 90% of delivery cases.


flickr.com

There are four grades of vaginal tears, the skin of the vagina prepares for childbirth by thinning out, this particular part of the body is supposed to stretch and give room for the head of the baby to pass without any form of trauma.

How severe the tear is, is dependent on the grade of the tear;

  • First-degree tear is the most minimal type of tear, the injury is small and it involves the first layer of the skin around the vagina and perineal region, whenever this is experienced, there is no need to undergo any form of stitches.

  • The second level of tear is the most common one, tearing up in a slightly bigger way than the first type, extending even deeper through the skin into the underlying muscles of the vagina, the tear will require stitches.

  • Third-degree tear comes in the form of a tear extending from the vagina to the anus. With this type of tear, injury is caused to the muscles and skin of the perineal area, and damage is also done to the anal sphincter muscles, it is this muscle that controls defecation and of course, stitches are required in this case.

  • Fourth-degree tear is a rare form of tear that affects women during childbirth, it is the most severe form of tear, and it extends from the vagina through the perineal region and anal sphincter muscles into the rectum.

A vaginal tear happens because the baby stretches the vagina and the perineum during childbirth. Factors like the size of your baby, and the ability of your vagina to stretch are factors that trigger vaginal tears which are beyond control.

There is a greater chance of getting a vaginal tear if you belong to one or more of these categories;

  • It's your first delivery.
  • You are birthing a large baby.
  • You had an epidural.
  • Your baby had an upward presentation instead of a downward one.
  • Vacuum or forceps were used during delivery.

The process of recovery varies depending on the degree of tear and the individual involved, some of these simple home remedies could help alleviate the pain felt;

  • Pain relief over-the-counter medication can help ease pain.

  • Sit on warm water, what we call a sitz bath, although some people prefer cool water to warm water, whichever one works best for you with proper discussion with your healthcare provider.

  • Use a menstrual pad until the injury gets healed completely.

  • Use a stool softener to prevent constipation, this will help ease the pain and pressure felt in the affected area.

  • Rest as much as much as you can.

  • Avoid sex until you have fully recovered.

Relief from vaginal tears usually takes about two weeks or last longer if it is a large one. The stitches will dissolve on its own so there will be no need to take additional treatment for that purpose, but you need to look out for possible signs of infection while the tear heals up, watch out for fever, a foul-smelling discharge, and pain that refuses to go even after taking medications.

Conclusion.

I am still trying to recover from mine and can't wait to become fully strong again as the pain can get intense and uncomfortable from time to time.

References.

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/labor-and-delivery/in-depth/vaginal-tears/art-20546855

https://www.webmd.com/baby/how-to-care-for-a-tear-after-childbirth

https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/21212-vaginal-tears-during-childbirth

https://www.nhs.uk/pregnancy/labour-and-birth/what-happens/episiotomy-and-perineal-tears/



Snapchat-1340420437.jpg

Hi, I am Tobi a writer, speaker, relationship blogger, and lover of good music. I love making friends and learning from people. If you want to hear me speak on relationships and general life issues, you can find my YouTube channel where you can watch any episode for free, please do not forget to subscribe, friends. I sincerely appreciate every love I get from here, Kindly do well to keep them coming.

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Congratulations on your newborn. Extend my greetings to the new father. Your friend here also just put to bed. I don't know who put to bed first though. My own baby is 3 weeks old now.

Thanks a lot sir and congratulations to you too sir.. I must say this goodnews everywhere. My regards to my friend, please help take extra care of her for me ooo.. I wish you can see the way I am smiling typing this reply, I am so happy and grateful to hear this news. My baby is just 2 weeks and 1 day today, which means your baby came first. Congratulations to the family sir, I pray the baby grow in strength, wisdom, health, and bring wealth.