You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beauty of Math

in StemSocial3 years ago

Thank you for this inspiring post. I've done some more reading on infinitesimals and other types of numbers that I hadn't heard of in my calculus class. This led me down a very interesting rabbit hole, and I really can't thank you enough.

Sort:  

happy to have inspired you to look some more into math, there is some really fascinating stuff. I never heard of infinitesimals to be honest, but did you know there are different kinds of infinities?

Different kinds of infinites? I know now 😁. The infinitesimals led me to surreal and hyperreal numbers, then nature reminded me that she doesn't care how well I grasp math, by sending a downpour to ruin some of my spring work... looks like my 'light' reading on mathematical theories will have to wait until this winter!

unlucky, all you need is pen & paper, but it is quite essential :D