You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Lifesaving Gift: Why Blood Donations Matter

in StemSocial9 months ago

I donate platelets, it is a bit different process to donating blood as it takes a quick blood sample from the backside of my hand and a check in temperature and blood pressure. Afterwards I get taken to a room full of very comfortable chairs, pillows and blankets which are needed to accommodate the donators as they will be there for at least an hour to an hour and a half during the extraction of platelets from the blood through a centrifuge. afterwards is one of the best parts as they ask you when you would like to donate again and give you chocolate milk and an alfajor (like two cookies with dulce de leche in between).
Regardless of anything anyone says I do it for myself and for the people that need it.